W29: How long can we go?

Sweet little Bédaine!

This morning, we all made our way to the doctor’s office, your dad included. He’s been coming with us for every single visit so far, except for one, because he had to work. The visit today was just a scheduled routine follow-up and reviewing some of my bloodwork. It looks like I’m in the clear when it comes to gestational diabetes, but I still need to be careful about what I eat as I was on the higher limit or normalcy for my blood sugar. As for my ferritin level (iron), it looks to be on the low side and my doctor strongly recommended I add iron supplements on top of the prenatal vitamin I am already taking. She said I was anemic, with no reserves left and she was expecting my Hb (Hemoglobin) to take a nosedive if I didn’t use supplements. It could result in me being more tired and winded (really? I already feel like I am tired all the time and don’t even get me started on how winded I am!) To prove my point, I fell asleep in the car on the way back home as your dad was driving! We also discussed how far into my pregnancy I wanted to work before going on maternity leave and the doctor has no reservations for me to keep working until the end, but she recommended that I start considering going off work around 34-36 weeks. She said that I was really healthy, but that the 12-hours shifts, working full-time would take its toll on me. I’ll have to sit down and discuss things with your dad

Once I made it home, I headed out to go get the iron supplements and came back home to cook myself some lunch. Now, I am looking forward to a few loads of laundry (feel the sarcasm here?!?) and resting up my back. Last night, both your dad and I were in need of a back rub, so instead of bugging each other with back massages, we decided to go to the Rec Center pool where they have a hot tub. Don’t worry, I didn’t stay for too long in the hot tub, but the strong jets were just what I needed for my sore back! We came back home, feeling all relaxed and I had the best night of sleep I’ve had for the past week! I said to daddy that I only had one requirement for the next pregnancy: We have to have a hot tub! Oh well, all in due time I guess!

I think about what you’re gonna look like often. I’m getting antsy to meet you little monkey, but take your time, I want you healthy and strong when you get here. In the meantime, although I call you monkey and this one is really cute, I pray you won’t look anything like that!

A little less hair would be ok with me!

Love, 

Mom & Dad Xxo

2 thoughts on “W29: How long can we go?

Leave a Reply

