W29D4: May you never forget…

Dear Little Bédaine,

Today is a sad anniversary for the United States. Nine years ago, terrible events happened at the Twin Towers in New York.

A sight you’ll never experience
The new New York Skyline

I won’t go into the details of the events as you will be sure to learn about it in due time, but I will let you know that I remember exactly where I was and how I felt about the event that happened on September 11 2001. I will also tell you that my first thought went to all the children that would be coming home and never get to see their loved ones again.

As we near your arrival into our lives, I can only hope that your father and I will be able to teach you compassion, understanding, acceptance and forgiveness. I hope that you understand the concepts of racism and hate, but that they never become an integral part of your life. On the contrary, I hope you will do your best to erase those concepts from those who have integrated it into their lives. What I want for you is to be able to express your thoughts and your opinions in a respectful manner; respectful of yourself, but also of others. 

I know that we won’t always see eye to eye and if you’re anything like your father and I, you’ll have your very own opinions and will stick to them until the end, but I want you to be able to hear what others will have to say. Not only hear them, but understand their ideas. You don’t have to agree with everyone around you, but everyone deserves a chance to be heard and understood. 

I hope you never get bullied, just like I hope you never bully anyone around you. I hope you will embrace your peers’ differences and celebrate their uniqueness instead of pointing them out and ostracizing them. I hope that by doing so, you teach your friends to return the favor to you and those around you.

May you always remember that you have loving parents who will do anything for you to blossom into your full potential. You might not always see us standing behind you, but we’ll do our best to teach you enough so that even when we’re not always right next to you, you will have the knowledge and abilities to make the best choice for you, based on the teachings and values we will pass down to you, like our parents did for us. I can only hope that we give you the kind of life we were lucky enough to be given by our parents, if not, better.

Remember little one, your parents will always love you this much and it’s a promise we will never break.

Love,
Mom & Dad Xxo

Leave a Reply

