W35D1: I’m really glad you’re here

My little Bédaine,

I just received a sad phone call from a friend of mine. We had gone for a walk about 2 weeks ago and she announced that she was pregnant. I was really happy for her and her husband as they had lost their 1st child earlier this year. Therefore, when she told me they were expecting again, I was thrilled for them and made sure she had a good doctor following her and didn’t have any questions I could maybe answer.

Tonight, she called me to tell me she miscarried 2 days after we went for our walk. I was really sad for her and it made me realize how lucky we are to have you kicking up a storm. As much as I complain, I am tremendously thankful that you like to elbow me in the ribs, headbutt me in the bladder and like to hang up high in my ribcage and leave me short of breath! I don’t know if you were trying to reassure me, but as soon as I hung up the phone with my friend, you started moving and rolling around, as if you wanted to let me know that you are well alive. Working in the NICU, I know that technically, we are out of the woods when it comes to major complications when it comes to you, but until I get to hold you in my arms, I will still worry. I try not to focus on what could go wrong during delivery, but call it a professional bad habit, I know too much to feel comfortable until we get to cradle you in our arms and finally become a family.

In the meantime, I will hug you from the outside (and I don’t care how silly I look, sitting on the couch, hugging my belly!) as I am sure your dad will do first thing when he walks into the house upon his return from work in a few hours.

Here we are, hugging you when you were a bit smaller.

We love you,
Mom & Dad Xxo

2 thoughts on “W35D1: I’m really glad you’re here

  1. I am sorry to hear about your friend's loss Val. I feel very lucky with my pregnancy too. Working where we do it was hard not to compare myself, and Baby, to our patients and it made me feel so blessed to have a healthy, and now full term, pregnancy. My thoughts are with your friend and I will send some of my full term vibes your way *laugh*

  2. Hang in there Val, just a little while longer, you can do it!! We know you will be successful with this babe …. can't wait to welcome it after it arrives. Marg and John

Leave a Reply

