W41D6: Here we go!!!

Hi Monkey!,

I’ve received the best wake up call this morning at 0745, telling me I could show up anytime to LDR for my induction. I was the happiest Babymama there is! Not that I don’t like carrying you, but it’s time for you to come out! It’s a mix of weird emotions: nervous, anxious, excited, stressed out and worried.

1100: At the hospital. Got my cervical exam done. You’re still not engaged and I remain effaced at 50%, dilated 1cm. 1st round of Cervidil is put in and we’re monitoring for about 1hr.

1600: They have decided to keep me overnight after I told them they would have to admit me to the psychiatric ward if they tried to send me home without a baby! šŸ™‚ Your dad went back home a little while ago to get some rest since not much was happening here. I can feel stronger contractions and more pressure on my lower back, but nothing serious or regular. I will be re-examined around dinnertime to see if we’ll go on with a 2nd Cervidil or progress with Oxytocin.

2100: Having some pretty strong contractions anywhere between 2-4 minutes apart. I tried to walk it off with your dad, but the lower back pain irradiates all the way to my thighs and is making my legs buckle and shaky. On the way back to my room, I’ve asked my nurse for some pain relief. After she examined me, I was still only at 1cm dilated, my cervix was a bit softer, but not by much. She repositioned the Cervidil as it had moved a bit and I was the lucky recipient of Morphine, chased with Gravol. It took about 20 minutes to kick in, but Morphine is slowly becoming my new BFF! An itchy BFF though… Prurit is a common side effect of Morphine.

Apparently, this Babymama is very entertaining when she is under the influence. Your dad had a blast videotaping me before he went home to get some rest. I’m sure I’ll regret the video once the Morphine wears off, but right now, it makes me really comfortable and relaxed! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

