Jan. 23, 2011: We (barely) made it!

Hello Rina!,
I am very proud to say that we have officially made it through the weekend without your dad, just the two of us, even if the last part was quite the challenge. Friday and Saturday went by without a hitch and I was silently congratulating myself on doing so well, taking care of you all by myself. Well, let me tell you, even though I never uttered a word by fear of jinxing myself, just thinking it did the trick! You were up at 0300, 0400, 0520, 0600, 0730, 0845 and that’s when I gave up on sleeping this morning. Maybe I would’ve pushed a bit harder if I’d been able to foresee the rest of the day 😦

I think I’m being generous by saying that you slept a combined 1 hr throughout the day. There was nothing to do, you just wanted me to hold you at all times. Today was a pyjama day not by choice, but simply because I never got around to getting dressed. Shortly after I decided to get up for the day, our new temporary roommate (Timmy) thought I didn’t have enough on my plate already and decided to wretch on the carpet. Great! Just one of those days!

Timmy, our new roommate for the next 2 months!

We are cat-sitting him for the net 2 months as his owner is away in India. He’s an old guy with barely any teeth left and is quite affectionate, however, he couldn’t care less for you and remained under the radar for the entire day after his incident in the morning. As for you, you were quite the challenge today, not wanting to be in your swing or your chair or even in the sling. You just wanted to be held is all. I managed to give you some tummy time though and you tolerated that for about 10 minutes before fussing again.

Trying to decide which fist to inhale first!

 

I have to admit that I cried with despair when your dad called to say that he would only catch the 6pm ferry to come back home (he had originally planned on taking the 5pm) as I was exhausted and looking forward to catching a break. I gave you a bath and fed you and your dad finally got home. He took over and managed to put you down within  30 mins! Very frustrating for me who has dealt with you all day. You wouldn’t sleep for me, but you do so for your dad. Timmy wouldn’t show up for me, but pranced around as soon as your dad got home. I guess it comes with the territory of being a mom: you do all the work and don’t get any of the recognition!

As soon as your dad got home, I hopped in the tub to try to relax and once I got out, your dad gave me a neck and back massage to work out the accumulated tension. He is a very good man and we love him very much! I have to start the Challenges (push-ups, sit-ups and squats) tomorrow and I’m not looking forward to it, but tomorrow will be a better day, I’m sure of it!

Sleep well my little Monkey!

Love,
Mom & Dad Xxo

2 thoughts on “Jan. 23, 2011: We (barely) made it!

  1. I am glad that two of your three solo days went well! Again, I am sorry for my bad memory! Alexis and Lily are the same way with Riley… I am home all day with them, playing and going out for walks etc etc but when Riley gets home from work he gets all the smiles and excitement. We can only hope that when we go back to work that we get the same reaction at the end of our day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

