Jan. 25, 2011: Re-acquainting myself with muscles, sleep learning and meeting boys…

Sweet Rina,

Today, you met your first boys…! Daddy needed a bit of convincing as he had not interviewed the boys first, but I managed to win him over. 😉 For me, it was a reunion with ex-patients of mine (twins) from the NICU and I was happy to see how well they are doing. I tell you, we will need to watch them though as those boys truly are MAJOR flirts! You can read all about their story here. I really enjoyed seeing Tracey, Rio, Asher and Nolan and I think they enjoyed meeting you too (even though you fussed a bit when your tummy was getting crampy). I have to admit that lately, I’ve been hanging out a lot with new moms and it’s nice to be able to exchange about our respective experiences and not fearing being judged because we’re all living similar situations. Sometimes, seeing that I’m not alone living certain things makes me feel normal even if I know deep down that I am normal for having my feelings or going through specific situations. It’s nice to be understood without having to give really detailed explanations!

Here you are, hanging out with Rio before we left.

In other news, I am currently reading a book called The No-Cry Sleep Solution: Gentle Ways to Help Your Baby Sleep Through the Night by Elizabeth Pantley. It was recommended to me by Katie (Em and Lu’s mom) and I have to say, I’m learning a lot from it. Even though you are still too small for us to expect you to sleep through the night, the book is a very good read for when you are old enough that we can start working on a plan for you. We did a log of your sleep pattern over the past 24 hrs and so far, you are pretty much on par when it comes to the amount of hours/day you sleep. The only thing we need to work on is your napping structure. You barely nap in the morning and take very long naps in the afternoon and evening. I am partly to blame as I usually take you for a walk or drive you along to wherever I’m going to in the afternoon and I let you sleep if you’re so inclined. Your dad and I, however, have come up with a nighttime routine for you in order to already instill silent signals that “night-night” is coming. I’ll keep some logs every 10 days for now and see how much/little progress we’re making! We are fully aware that this is a very long-term thing and we need to be committed and dedicated for it to work in the long run.

Also, yesterday was my 1st day of Challenges. I started the 100 push-ups, 200 sit-ups and 200 squats challenges in order to get back into shape. I was fine yesterday, but today, I am re-acquainting myself with muscles I had forgotten I had. I am sore, but in a good way. That doesn’t mean I am looking forward to repeating the experience tomorrow, but I’ll do it anyway as I want to be back to my old self in order to be able to enjoy being with you! Hopefully, I’ll reach my goals and be ready to enjoy the summer hiking and camping with you!

Love,

Mom & Dad Xxo

One thought on “Jan. 25, 2011: Re-acquainting myself with muscles, sleep learning and meeting boys…

Leave a Reply

