Weigh-in Monday, stupid rain and weekly menu

Sweet Rina,

Yesterday was not such a good day in this household as everyone seemed to be grumpy. However, I had a good night of sleep (I felt so rested that when you woke up at 4am for a feed, I offered to feed you and let your dad go back to bed!) a very good weigh-in this morning (down 1,8 lbs, 4,8 lbs in total making it only (!) 25.2lbs to go) and I planned my menus for this coming week. I am actually pretty excited to go grocery shopping for the good foods needed to cook my recipes:

Breakfast: a big batch of Quick Date-Apple-Cinnamon Oatmeal (from the book The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone)

Lunch: Spicy Peanut Lime Cilantro Soup (from the book ExtraVeganZa: Original Recipes from Phoenix Organic Farm by Laura Matthias) (Thanks Nath for suggesting it!) and I will either add some steamed veggies or some fruit to that

Dinner: Black-Eyed Pea Croquettes with Dijon Glaze (from the book The Kind Diet by Alicia Silverstone) adding a nice salad on the side.

I will also alternate with some left-overs I have for breakfast and dinner. I have to be totally honest here: I had a small slip-up last night. As your dad was cooking my veggie burger on the Bar-B-Q, he was also grilling some pretty sweet-smelling cheese smokies… When he came back in with all this grilling, I just had to have a taste of the smokies. I had a bite. It was juicy and delicious and satisfied my little craving. There, I had a taste of meat and I’m not going to beat myself over it!

It’s been crappy weather here for over a week now, with either rain or clouds EVERYDAY. Even if we went for a walk yesterday with our friend Linda (she  hadn’t met you yet!), I still suffer very much from cabin fever. Hopefully, shopping for colorful food will lift my mood later today!

Below is a pic of the breakfast I made last week from Oh She Glows Sweet Potato Oatmeal Breakfast

 

In our cute blue Le Creuset cast-iron pot we received as a wedding present!

Close-up

Love,

Mom & Dad Xxo

4 thoughts on “Weigh-in Monday, stupid rain and weekly menu

  1. Ooo!!! Those meals sound so yummy! Reading this reminded me that I forgot to bring you my Moosewood cookbook. Sorry! I will lend it to you when I get home. And I will want a couple of your recipes!!! 🙂

  2. Lookes yummy! And I’m jealous of your Le Creuset:P Great job on meal planning for a whole week – I know it’s a bit of work, but it makes the week a no-thinker! It was great to meet Rina and she is every bit adorable and lovely as she is in her photos. Keep up the good work Val!!

    • As I mentioned, Le Creuset was a present! I’m very happy to have it as I could never afford one! I managed to make the soup and the breakfast, Rina kept interrupting my cooking process! My beans are soaking overnight and I plan on making the croquettes tomorrow! Thanks for the compliments on Rina, I think she is very cute too, but I’m totally biased! 😉 Thanks for the support, it means a lot!

Leave a Reply

