TC10K, sleeping in, civic duty and tooth extraction…

Sweet Rina!,

This will be an extremely long post as I haven’t blogged in a few days and have some catching up to do!

Yesterday was a gorgeous day for the TC10K! It was extra sunny, the course was one of the easiest 10km we’ve done together and the weather was just perfect. We met up with a few of our mommy-babies friends and kept a good pace for the entire course. Everybody we were with were taller than us (not hard to do, really) and therefore, taking longer strides which meant a faster pace for us! 😉

Below are a few pics I took of the race. Although everyone was ok with me posting the pictures on the blog, I’ve blurred our racing bib numbers to keep a bit of privacy:

Our group, sorry for the blaring sun! 😉

Walking a 10km can be exhausting for a baby...

...which is why the baby naps, while the mama walks!

The view of the snowy peaks and the ocean behind SuperMama and SuperDaddy

Everybody did really well in the race with a finish time of 2:02 or about. If we take away the 5mins we waited in line for our bathroom break, we all came in under 2hrs! Good job everyone!

After we were done with the walk and changing a few diapers in the open air (don’t worry, we picked a secluded spot so as not to expose all of your very cute little bottoms to everyone around us 🙂 )  we went to grab breakfast and headed home after that. You and I napped together and then, it was time to go pick up BabyDaddy at the airport. Although you have been a little angel for me over the 5 days your Dad was away, I was very happy to be reunited with our family. You see, your Dad and I love each other very much and I like being around him as much as I can. I’m pretty sure you do too as you slept in until 0830 this morning, snuggled between us in our bed! I picked you up around 0500 when you fussed a little and you went back to sleep between the 2 of us! 🙂 It was nice of you to sleep in as I had to get ready for my dentist appointment and I have a feeling your dad wanted to get some rest too.

As for my dentist appointment, everything is fine with my teeth, except for my wisdom teeth… Every time I go to the dentist, there’s always the threat of having to remove them (I only have 3 and they never came out, so they are monitored closely). By now, being 33 years old, I thought I was out of the woods, but apparently not. My only lower wisdom tooth has moved a lot over the past 4 years, threatening the alignment of my other teeth and the dentist now thinks we should do something about it. However, it is very close to the nerve and therefore, I now have a consultation with a dental surgeon. Yay me! NOT! I really hope a tooth extraction is covered by my medical insurance as there is no way I can afford that on my maternity leave wages… I’ll find out more once the dental surgeon’s office calls to book an appointment. I am not happy about that at all… I am very conscious of my oral hygiene and floss EVERY NIGHT before going to bed. This should’ve been dealt with a long time ago and not left until now. Seriously, who gets their wisdom teeth pulled out at 33?!? Ugh. And to top it all off, I think my body has finally relaxed now that your Dad is home and given in to the threatening cold that has been looming over me while he was away (I had a scratchy throat, but nothing else). I’m now full-blown stuffed up in one nare and yet, I have the sniffles… Oh well, it’s raining today and a perfect day to feel sicky at home!

Today, a national election is being held for our country. I went in to vote after my dentist appointment. I am hoping this time around, things will change as I feel that our past recent leaders have mainly been focusing on picking on one another instead at looking at ways to better what is already a great country. Here’s to keeping my fingers crossed!

In other news, you keep growing at an alarming rate! You are now pushing through your pyjamas that are 3-6months in size and you’re not even 5 months old yet. Literally!

Ripping through your pyjamas...

Your toes are playing Peekaboo!

You seem very coy about the whole thing! 😉

We love you very much darling Rina!

Mom & Dad Xxo

One thought on “TC10K, sleeping in, civic duty and tooth extraction…

  1. I was without dental insurance when I had to get my wisdom teeth out, and so I had it done in the hospital and it was all covered by my BC Med. I had as good as an experience as it could have been, healed quickly with minimal swelling. And really great drugs that gave me the best sleep of my life – haha! Hopefully your wisdoms don’t pose a problem, but if they do – don’t worry – it’s not so bad!

Leave a Reply

