Such a sweet girl!

Sweet Rina,

Yesterday, we walked a lot! I figured we walked for over 2hrs in total! We went to the bank, grocery shopping where we ran into Jenn and her sister. Jenn is going to try to go vegan too! I lent her my copy of The Kind Diet and she decided to give it a try for a month and re-assess afterwards. Go Jenn! After dropping the groceries home, we took off for a workout/walk around the golf course and a nice little visit to Daddy at the Squash Club in the middle of it. You are becoming such a sweet baby: smiling for everyone, giggling, chatting, a delight really! We have our little routine established and you are a joy to be with everyday. As mother’s day approaches (my first mother’s day!), I find myself lucky to be the mother of an adorable and cute baby girl!

I think it’s now safe to say that I’ve conquered one of the steep incline around the golf course. The one I’m talking about is on the path that goes around the course, next to one of the artificial lake (on the western side of the loop). It comes very abruptly and climbs consistently. It is challenging when just walking it, but you can imagine what it’s like going up it and pushing a stroller. I have now been up that hill twice while pushing you without stopping to take a break. It’s not pretty when I reach the top of the hill, I’m huffing and puffing and although we don’t stop walking while going up, we are not walking fast at all, but we did it! It’s a great workout for my cardio, my abs (as I’m always conscious to engage my core when going uphill) and my glutes (I try to hold the stroller as close to my upper body as possible so as not to strain my lower back). When we got back from our walk around the golf course, I noticed that I had managed to get a bit of a tan. It sure looks like I’m working on the best farmer’s tan there is from all our walks in your stroller. I also managed to make Veganomicon’s Herbed Hummus and I also made this soup from Vegetarian Frugal Housewife. I was also pleasantly surprised that your Dad had some and liked it too! 😉

After putting you to bed and being done making the soup, I tried to relax snuggled up to your dad on the couch, but my legs were tired and aching from all the walking and pushing you uphill in your stroller. I couldn’t relax, really… I remembered I had my compression socks from my attempt at healing my shin splints last year. I put them on and within 15 minutes of wearing them, my legs felt better already! I wore them until bedtime and I feel good this morning! Hurray for compression socks!

Now, if only I could muster the energy to train you to fall back asleep in the middle of the night, my life would be perfect. Right now, I simply change your diaper and take you to bed with us (the easiest and laziest solution). Every night before going to bed, I tell myself that tonight’s the night I start teaching you to fall back asleep in your crib and every night, around 4am, I’m way too tired to do anything and cave and take you to bed with us… Who know, maybe tonight will be the night!

Love,

Mom & Dad Xxo

Leave a Reply

