Our bedtime routine…

Sweet Rina,

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a long time now, but I always think of it as I go to bed and somehow, never remember to write it up in the morning. This one is about OUR (your Dad’s and mine) bedtime routine, Every night as we get ready for bed, we turn off your baby monitor in the living room, open the door to your bedroom and walk in. We stand next to your crib and simply watch you sleep. I also like to pet your hair gently, making sure not to wake you up. Sometimes, too, I reposition you as you crawl around in your bed and get cold feet from getting out of your blankets. Sometimes you wake up for a few seconds, but I usually shhhh you back to sleep. We do this EVERY. SINGLE. NIGHT.

There is something so peaceful about watching a sleeping baby. I don’t know about your Dad, but I know my heart is bursting full of love for you in those precious moments (it usually is at any other moments in the day, but it just seems intensified at bedtime). You are turning into such a sweet girl, with your very own personality (you are goofy and funny, determined and strong-minded and don’t like to fail) and everyday I am thankful for you. Everyday I am more in love with the family we’ve become. I now understand what people mean when they talk about the love of a parent for a child, how endless and selfless it is. Not only do I now understand it, but I wouldn’t give it up for anything in the world.

Love,

Mom & Dad Xxo

Leave a Reply

