You know you’ve been a stay-at-home mom too long when…

Sweet Rina,

As I was cleaning the kitchen and dining room today, I surprised myself by getting all giddy about my new floor mop. I had been using the Swiffer Wetjet for the past few months, but noticed that every time I cleaned the floors, you got all stuffed up so I decided to invest in a new mop: the Rubbermaid Reveal Spray Mop Kit. I really, really love this thing! I like that it uses washable pads and that you can use any solution you want in the spray bottle (I used a simple mix of water and vinegar, which dries really quick and doesn’t leave any streaks). I also like that it doesn’t use batteries as the spray mechanism is manually operated. I got the whole starter kit for less than $30 at Walmart and bought an extra floor pad because I don’t clean all the floors on the same day (since I copied Caitlin’s cleaning schedule and clean one room /day). So there, you know you’ve been a stay-at-home mom too long when you get excited about a floor mop. Oh well!

We also got together with your “aunty” Kell today and attempted at a short hike in our neighbourhood. Well, that was a big fail! I put you in your new backpack and we took off. I realized about 1/4 of the way into our hike that I forgot to bring you a snack and your “snacktime” was approaching fast. We cut our hike short and headed back home so we could feed the monster you. It made me realize that hiking with you in the pack will be a bit challenging for me. Although I figured out today how to adjust the shoulder straps to my height, the carrier itself weighs almost 8lbs (empty) and you must be close to 18-19lbs. Going uphill is challenging and it made me realize that I need to take you on hikes with me a lot more before our trip at the end of the month. I was so pooped that I skipped my spinning workout. I think it all worked out in the end because you ended up having an afternoon nap and once you woke up, I think your teething was bothering you. We played a bit, but you were weepy and showing signs of being tired so I bathed you (you fell on your back in the water even though you’ve been able to sit up unassisted for the past 2 weeks. Let’s just say you weren’t thrilled with falling on your back in the water, but I picked you up quickly.), then you proceeded to pee on your towel AND on the bathmat (thank you for the extra load of laundry to do tonight ;)). I was just as exhausted as you when I finally put you down for the night.

I sure hope this whole teething thing blows over us quick. 4hrs straight of you being weepy and whiny is about just as much as I can take, but your goofy toothy grin and your new “bye-bye” wave make up for it!

Love,
Mom & Dad Xxo

Leave a Reply

