Crossfit: 1, Val:0!

Ugh!
I went to my 1st session of Crossfit this morning and to say it kicked my behind is to put it mildly. Not only did it kick it, it then wrapped it up and delivered it to my own hands! 
We are a small group of 6 (3 women and 3 men) so it feels intimate. We introduced ourselves to each other and explained why we were trying Crossfit. Then, we had to stretch and learn the skills (today was squats, pushups and freakin’ burpees). We then moved on to the WOD (Workout Of the Day) which was as follow:
Repeat 3x for time (meaning you repeat the workout X3 and aim for the shortest time possible)
400m run
9 squats
7 burpees (How I loathe thee!)
From the get-go, I knew I was gonna be the slow poke of the bunch, but to be honest, I didn’t care. I’m doing this for myself and I’m not competing with anybody else. After I returned from the 1st 400m, the coach suggested I only do 200m for the next 2 rounds and I was ok with that plan! My last set of burpees was horrendous and I felt like I was scraping myself off the floor, but I didn’t give up and I finished with a time of 10:35 with my fellow Crossfitters cheering me on as I was last to finish (see, told you so)! I don’t know if it’s good or not as I have nothing to compare it to, but it feels ok in my book. Of course, I’d like to be able to run the full 400m, but that will come with time. 
Came back home to finish laundry, clean the bathroom, run some errands by foot with the girls (who were not in the best of moods and neither was I for that matter), made lunch, put the girls to bed and I’m finally sitting for what feels like the 1st time since 7am. My triceps are sore and so are my glutes. Not looking forward to tomorrow as I know the soreness will set in over the next 48 hours. I will try to soak in epsom salts tonight!

Leave a Reply

