Bedtime

It’s 1800, dinner is done, the dishes are drying in the sink (because I can’t be bothered to hand dry them. I will be the happiest woman on the planet the day we move and we have a kitchen with a dishwasher, but that’s a whole entire post!) and it’s bath time. I struggle to rally the troops in the bathroom and more often than not, I feel like I’m trying to herd cats: mission impossible. I finally manage to trap everyone in the bathroom and get at least one child naked. I hop in the bathtub with whomever is ready. Yes, I bathe with my kids. I am alone to do their bedtime routine 60-70% of the time (as Ben is at work) and ever since I was pregnant with Béatrice, my lower back has given me problems. It’s easier to just hop in with them then bending over the tub. So yes, I bathe with them.

I find myself trying to calm Rina and her incessant fear of water in her face. I try to avoid a meltdown as it’s the last thing I want to deal with at this time. The kiddos are tired and so am I. Once Rina is done, I wash and dry myself. Pjs are on and it’s 1815. Such is my glamorous life! I don’t mind, it’s not like I go out in the evenings or anything as A) who would I go out with? and B) Who would watch the girls?

It’s Rina’s turn to get dry and moisturized. It’s a routine we’ve kept since she was a baby and she likes it. Once she’s in her pjs, it’s time to bathe BeZU. She’s a major splasher and doesn’t care that she gets water on her face. I have to watch her like a hawk as she’s so squirmy, she could easily drown if I turned around for a few seconds. I quickly realize that I shouldn’t have put on my pyjama just yet, I am completely soaked. Oh well, it’ll dry!

Béa’s turn to get dried and moisturized. I find myself making choo-choo noises or singing to keep her focused and stop her from squirming like the little worm she is.

When she is finally in her pjs, I plop her on the floor where Rina is on her belly and crawling across the floor, urging Béa to follow her. BeZU follows suit and she lets out a few squeeks of delight at the new game with her big sister while Rina makes sure she is keeping up with her. Our family life is not always easy and I find myself alone with the girls a lot, but in those moments of pure love between the girls, I couldn’t be happier. I think to myself that we have (so far) succeeded at showing the girls what love is. Caring for one another and having each other’s back. That’s what it’s all about, really. In those perfect moments, I forget that Rina always waits until we get to the playground to pee and poo in the grass (I pick it up, don’t worry!) no matter how much I ask her before we leave if she needs to go; I forget how I find it hard to wake up every morning at 0500 to give Béa her morning bottle; I forget how tired I am and that I’m usually asleep by 2100, drooling on the couch in front of the tv. I just take this moment in and bask in the downsized glory that is motherhood.

I put the dishes away even if they’re not completely dry. I just can’t care at this point. My tea bag is waiting in my mug and I put the kettle on now so as not to make any extra noise in the kitchen after the girls are in bed.

I give Béa her night time bottle while Rina plays around us. 1900: time to put BeZU to bed; mobile on, lights off. It’s time to rock in the dark with Rina while reviewing all the fun things we did today.

Most days, I feel like it’s groundhog day around here as the girls respond so well to routine and schedule. However, it’s those little glimpses of perfect sisterly love that make it all worth it. I just have to remind myself of those golden moments once in a while.

Image

The girls, cuddling in the afternoon shade. I don’t have a lot of pictures of the two of them (they move too much!), so this one holds a special place in my heart…

Leave a Reply

