All grown up!

My sweet Rina,

Tomorrow, you will go to pre-school for the first time and we were asked to send you a note of comfort in the event of an emergency procedure. This is probably the hardest letter we’ve had to write and I hope you never have to read it, but in the case that you do, know that we love you more than words can say and we will do everything in our power to get to you as soon as we can.

I can’t help but reflect on the person you are. You are incredibly loving and you genuinely care for others, and although I am so very proud of you for having that quality. You are an amazing big sister to Béatrice and she lights up with a huge smile and giggles  every time she sees you. You love playing pretend, princesses, mermaids (sirènes) and puppies. You are extremely independent, but will still hold my hand when there are cars around, which I love.

You have this way of making me feel like the best mom on the planet when you wrap your little arms around my neck and squeeze me for a hug and a kiss. You give the absolute best hugs, by the way. You are crazy about your Dad and I love watching the two of you together. He is crazy about you too, just so you know!

Dad wanted to say this: Hold tight and be strong and happy like you always are.  Never forget the to laugh, which you do all the time!

With all of our hearts,

Mom & Dad Xxo

So hang in there, mon amour, we will come as soon as possible and we love you more than you will ever know.

 

P.S. This was probably one of the hardest letter I have ever had to write in my entire life. Not because of the content, but because of the context. If Rina ever gets to read that letter, it means that we have somewhat been separated and cannot get to her anytime soon. I was bawling my eyes out writing this letter, just thinking about little Rina, being alone and scared and even Ben was a bit emotional. Then again, if Rina reads this, she might just be reading the blog! 🙂

2 thoughts on “All grown up!

    • I would literally die for my girls. They are such an intricate part of me. As much as I relish my “me time”, I would do anything for them. It’s very mentally hall engine to find the right balance between the different roles: wife, mother, me, nurse…

Leave a Reply

