Fun WOD and Flowers Every Day!

Happy Wednesday everyone!

It’s no surprise to anyone reading the blog lately that I’ve been a little down about many things in my life. However, this morning, I decided this is where it was going to stop. No more negative self talk, no more self sabotaging and trying to see the good in every situation.

I was woken up by my alarm at 0500 and it’s been a very long while since it woke me up. Normally, I wake up before it goes off. I guess I was tired!

Today’s WOD:

It was nice to work on a new set of skills (back squats) and I took it really easy as it was my 1st time doing them since OnRamp. I started with the 35# bar only and slowly progressed to these weights: 35#, 40#, 50#, 55#. I wanted to work on form before going crazy with adding weights. I find I have to constantly remind myself to “drive” from the hips as soon as I hit my lowest point in my squat, but it was definitely good practice. I’m also doing better at keeping my feet aligned almost parallel instead of turned out (damn you years of dancing!) and turning out my knees instead. Big news! When I do 55#, I now use the “big girl” plates! Slow progress, but getting there!

The WOD was fun! Seriously! No sarcasm here! It was hard, but I enjoyed it and it had been a while since I had fun doing a WOD. The change was a welcomed one! I did the FG with the following modifications:

  • Taters with 18# KB. I think I should have gone higher. Live and learn.
  • Knee push-ups. I really need to work on doing “real” push-ups!
  • I did the strict pull-ups with the black band, but I think I should have used the green and red ones instead. Although, by the end of the WOD, I was pretty pooped and was glad to have the black band. It’s hard to do strict pull-ups when we’ve been working on kipping pull-ups for so long!

I came back home and was welcomed by the best treat on earth. We are lucky enough to own an espresso machine. A real one, not one of those pod-thingy ones. We are pretty elitist (and we know it!) when it comes to coffee and we love having Americano (Ben) and lattรฉ (me, made with almond milk) at home. I only drink one a day, but it really is my treat of the day.

Hmmm yeah!

Hmmm yeah!
Source

I love drinking it, but I HATE making it for myself. Ben, as the amazing husband he is, makes my coffee EVERY. SINGLE. MORNING! I said to him: “Some women get flowers, I get coffee!” I truly see it as one of the ultimate proof of affection and I’m thankful for my cup every day! ๐Ÿ™‚ It will be hard this weekend when he is gone… I’ll have to resort to making my own! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Speaking of, I think it was my last WOD this week, unless I can find someone to watch the girls for me while I go to Crossfit either Friday or Saturday. Still working on that. If not, I’ll just drag them along to the playground and will do a WOD on my own! ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Fun WOD and Flowers Every Day!

  1. Real pushups are really hard! I actually didn’t start doing them “Prescribed” (as in, no snaking and full range) until my pregnancy! They put my on these parallette bars, and I had to keep them in close in order to do them correctly-and after my recovery, all of a sudden I was a stud with the pushups!

    Good job focusing on form!! I think that’s awesome…a lot of people might try to jump up before their ready and that leads to injury IMHO. It’s hard for me to WOD alone when I can’t make to the box-but my little girl gets a kick out of seeing mommy jump and do cleans so sometimes I do a quick one just to make her laugh

Leave a Reply

