Happy and Healthy!

My Sweet BeZU!

I haven’t talked about your last follow-up appointment at the doctor’s until now because I wanted to have concrete information before discussing it with you. We went to your 9-month check-up last week and there were a few things that our GP wanted to make sure were ok with you so we were referred to a pediatrician. With me being a NICU (Neonatal Intensive Care Unit)ย nurse, we were lucky enough that I know her and I like her, so that was a bonus from the get go.

The 2 issues that we were looking into were:

  1. The size of your head (small) and your anterior fontanel (big)
  2. Your hip hypermobility

We saw the pediatrician on Tuesday and after spending an hour with her, she only wanted to investigate your hips a little further. She looked into the size of your head, compared it to the size of Rina’s head and she was satisfied with it. It wasn’t something that really worried me as Rina also has a small head and I do too, so it runs in the family.

As for your hips, you were kind enough to oblige and demonstrate how you can go from a belly position (with your legs pointing in the back) to whipping your legs in a full circle without ever lifting your bum off the ground and land in a sitting position (with your legs pointing in the front). After checking out your ROM (Range of Motion), the peds came to the conclusion that both your hips were hyper mobile, with your right hip being extra mobile compared to the left one. She decided to send us for an x-ray of your hips and pelvis, just to make sure you didn’t have hip dysplasia or any other anomalies in your sacrum.

You had your x-rays done yesterday. Your Dad went with you while I was at ballet with Rina and I think it was for the best because by then, I was a little worried so it’s good that your Dad went instead of me. You see, being in the field, sometimes you know too much and your brain starts digging into and analyzing ย everything and it’s not always the best for a worry-bug like me. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Anyway, I digress!

The pediatrician was nice enough to call me yesterday afternoon. She had seen the x-rays (that had been read by a pediatric-minded radiologist) and everything is fine with you! You are just limber! ๐Ÿ™‚ I was glad that she took the time out of her busy day to set my mind at ease ASAP and give me the good news! I guess it pays sometimes to be a NICU nurse! ๐Ÿ˜‰

You see, when you become a parent, you have all those hopes and dreams for your children and for me it’s that both you and sister have happy and healthy lives. That’s all that ever mattered to me, from the moment we found out we were expecting you. I know there will be bumps and scrapes and stuffy noses and scars and I can deal with that. I just pray we never have to deal with anything more major!

Happy morning child!

Happy morning child!

Look Mama! I can stand on my own!

Look Mama! I can stand on my own!

4 thoughts on “Happy and Healthy!

  1. Yay!!!! Glad to hear that BeZu got a clean bill of health! Those sound like seriously mobile hips! Maybe she will be a gymnast? ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

