Dull

That moment, at the end of the day, when the girls are in bed and I finally sit on the couch with my feet up on the coffee table (why else have a coffee table, really, other than to put your feet on it?!?) and it comes, sneaking up on me. That dull ache in my legs, butt, arms, chest, shoulders, pick a body part (or all of them as it’s often the case). Just annoying enough to remind you that walking/ standing/ getting up/ breathing (pick one or all, once again) tomorrow might be a challenge, but not annoying to the point where you tell yourself “Why am I doing this to myself?”. I know why I crossfit: for my health (physical, mental and emotional), for myself, for my family, to get stronger, faster, leaner. To not be skinny fat (or in my case heavy fat). I have accepted that I may never see my “goal” number on the scale and I’m ok with that. I’d rather see my “goal” number at the box, lifting heavy stuff. If that means I’ll remain short and stumpy, then so be it. I’ll be the best short and stumpy me I can be.Ā 

In 4 days, I will have another Crossfit update (4 months since I started). For the first time, I don’t care if I lost/gained inches/lbs. I don’t care because, last Friday, I did some running at the playground for the WOD and didn’t suffer from shin splints all weekend long. This morning, I did 200 single skips and still no shin splints. I will celebrate the small victories and forget the rest. Focus on what I have power over to change, the rest will come.

So tonight, I am celebrating from my couch as I muse on my progress since the beginning of this adventure. Let’s be honest here, it’s not like I can move anyway, I’m too sore! šŸ˜‰

Not going anywhere fast! And yes, that foam roller lives in the living room because we use it daily! ;)

Not going anywhere fast! And yes, that foam roller lives in the living room because we use it daily! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

