Cooking For a Cold Day

I didn’t go to Crossfit on Monday because I had only 4hrs of sleep (the girls were up and Ben was a snoring machine :() and since I was still sore from my massage on Friday, I figured I probably should try to get some sleep instead of risking an injury. I really was looking forward to going as we were doing new (to me) things: Toes-to-bar and Rope Climbs. Not that I would have been successful at either, but I like learning/working on new things. Hopefully, we will be working on those for the next few weeks and I didn’t miss it all!

The last few days have been filled with the regular mommy stuff that fills my days: cleaning, taking care of the girls and cooking. I think Béa is fading out her morning nap (she hasn’t slept in the morning in the past few days and I get her up to play with her), but I can’t complain as she sleeps for a solid 12hrs at night and will still nap 1-2hrs in the afternoons.

Cooking-wise, I have been trying a few new recipes today and so far, I am really happy with these.

I’ve been in a bit of a breakfast rut lately and I was missing my toast and peanut butter, so I thought I’d give this Oatless Oatmeal recipe from The Primal Yogi a try. It didn’t disappoint at all! I felt like I was eating warm uncooked cake batter for breakfast! Perfect on this chilly morning! I doubled the recipe (so I would have some for tomorrow morning when I come back from Crossfit) and added a few raisins to mine (Ben and Rina were having raisin-cinnamon scones and I didn’t want to feel like an outsider). It was really good and even though it was just bananas with almond butter, it felt like a total treat!

Then, I got to chopping and made this Creamy Carrot Chicken Soup from Gutsy. The soup was super easy to make and I had some leftover chicken from a pre-cooked chicken I had bought over on the weekend. The only modification I did was decreasing the amount of butter. I sautéd the onions right in my InstantPot, then I shoved all the remaining ingredients in, sealed the lid, set it on “soup” for 30 mins and voilà! Once it was finished, I blended the whole soup (so the girls will eat it too) and it gave a really creamy soup without any cream. Comfort food at its best!

2 thoughts on “Cooking For a Cold Day

  1. Pingback: Holy Thrunky! | Ramblings of a Babymama

Leave a Reply

