Snowy WOD

As I stepped foot outside to go to the Box this morning, I was welcomed with a white blanket of snow on the ground and it was still falling lightly. I quickly reverted to my east coast habits and mumbled under my breath as I was brushing the snow off my car. We don’t get a lot of snow in Victoria and when we do, the city either goes into a panic, a shutdown or both!

I made my way there carefully and we had to wait for Coach Cam to come as Coach Caleb couldn’t make it out of his street. We started a little later than usual, but we still managed to get warmed up and onto the skills:

Let me tell you about my snatch… It stinks! (See what I did just here?!? 🙂 ) Seriously though, I can’t seem to increase my weights at all as when I do, my form goes out the window. 😦 Here were my reps:

35#-35#-40#-40#-45#

I didn’t count this as a 45# max because my form was all out of whack at that weight, so I just recorded that I had done 40#. One day, I’ll get them! Mark my words!

As for the WOD, they included rope climbs. I can lock myself on the rope and maybe go up one arm-length, but there was no way I was going to make it to the top so I did the FG with the lying rope climbs. My reps and calories were as follows:

  • Lying rope climbs (reps): 5-5-5-5-6
  • Calories on the erg: 13-11-12-11-10

My total score for this one was 135. I was teamed up with Jordan (aka the machine I wish I was) and Jasper. Our total combined was 470. That means I contributed 28,7% of our total score. Not bad, but I really wish I had been closer to 33% of our total score. Always room for improvement and that’s why I absolutely love Crossfit.

I’ve been in a funk lately. You see, I get back to work full-time as of January 3rd. After 14.5 months of being at home with my girls and seeing them everyday, there will be days where I won’t see them at all (I will leave for work before they are up and will return after their bedtime). This sucks monumentally. I know I will go peek at them while they are asleep, but it’s not the same. The irony of it all is that sometimes, the only thing I want is a minute to myself, without the girls and now that I’m about to go back to work, I just want to be with them. Welcome to motherhood with all of its idiosyncrasies. Add to it all that I don’t think I will be able to go to the Box 3x/week like I’m currently accustomed to doing and you’ll find me almost losing my mind. Crossfit has been a tremendous outlet for me to work out my emotions (trust me, they have been bountiful!) and to not be able to rely on the certainty that I can go lift/do a WOD and let go of some of it is distressing.

Another factor to take into account is the change that Crossfit has brought up my body. I am nowhere close to having a pack of abs or a tight core, but Crossfit has made me stronger and my body has just begun to visibly change. I’m afraid that now that I won’t be able to go as often, the progress will stop. I don’t want it to.

December has been a very emotionally charged month for me and this was reflected in my food choices. I haven’t stuck to paleo and I know it will show on my next progress update. I also know that I’m an emotional eater and those choices were mine to make and therefore, I am the sole person to blame. Like I said to Kevin (a fellow Crossfitter) this morning, work gets in the way of life. I wish I had a 9-5 kind of job or at least worked 8hrs/day, but being a nurse, it’s not something I can do. My schedule is never the same and I work 12hrs days/night shifts. That means that when I’m working a day shift, I won’t be able to make it to the Box at all. It also means I will have to choose between sleep and Crossfit on the days I work a night shift or go in the morning after a night shift. I’m curious to see how it will affect my performance!

For now though, I still have two weeks at home with my girls and Ben will have a lighter schedule over the holidays, so I plan on making the most of my time with the ones I love the most. 🙂

One thought on “Snowy WOD

  1. Pingback: 5 Months Into Crossfit: Progress Update! | Ramblings of a Babymama

Leave a Reply

