Letting Go And Slowing Down

It’s 0630 and I find myself awake in bed after reading my blogs and other such things. I’m thinking about my 1st post of the year and the direction I want it to take. I don’t do New Year’s resolutions or yearly recap very well.

Last night, I went to bed around 2130 and set an alarm to wake up again at 2330 so I could kiss my lover at midnight. We curled up on the couch, snuggled and held hands while we watched a NYE show on TV and we kissed to ring in the New Year. It was quiet, but it was perfect. I’m happy to say goodbye to 2013. It hasn’t been our finest year as a couple and that’s all I will say about it on the blog. I feel like there are some things I need to keep away from the blog and this is one of them. I’ll just say this: We are together and we are staying together. Nothing to worry about here. Every marriage has its ups and downs. We are no different. We have gone through a few ups and many downs in 2013 and I’m glad to be able to put this year behind us. Letting go of all the crap, focusing on the positive side of life, keeping a positive attitude and my head up through it all.

We are looking forward to a new year, hopefully a new place to call home by next summer (we’ve outgrown our 2-bedroom apartment with the girls!), already thinking about making plans for our vacation next summer (that is, if we have any money left depending if we buy a house or simply move to a different rental).

2013 began with the two of us absolutely sleep-deprived from caring for Béatrice. She wasn’t a difficult baby, quite the contrary, but it was a different dynamic having two children under 2. We weren’t able to rest as much as we did after having Rina and it took me 4 months to finally feel like a human being again and regain my basic “health” back. I say “health” as I wasn’t healthy in the whole sense of the term. We were on survival mode and as much as I enjoyed breastfeeding and still find myself missing it at times, I’m glad it is over and Béatrice is now completely done with formula. She is sleeping through the night (most times) and Rina will sometimes sleep in until 0600, so that’s great! (Can you feel the sarcasm here?!?) As for my health, I’m working on it. Trying to eat Paleo most of the time and not giving myself a hard time when I’m not 100%. I try to eat paleo 80% of the time and allow myself some cheat meals.

I used to call myself a crocheter, but since July, I have become an avid knitter. I haven’t produced nearly as many knitting projects as I did when I crocheted, but that’s what I like about knitting. Like anything else in my life, whether it’s our marriage, our girls, Crossfit or going Paleo, it’s a labour of love. It takes dedication, attention to details and time to make the finished project look amazing. I have gone from a “solo project knitter” to someone who has multiple projects going on at once.

Currently, I’m working on these:

  • Super Easy Blanket for my mother-in-law. It was supposed to be a Christmas present and because I’m a slow knitter, she will get it whenever I’m done with it! 😉
  • Leg Warmers for someone special. I can’t say just yet as I think she might be reading the blog and I’d like to keep it a surprise so I won’t even link to my Ravelry project page…

As soon as I’m done with one or the other of these projects, I want to cast on for The Shepherd.

Kate Davies Designs

Copyright Kate Davies Designs

My Mother-in-law gave me some money for Christmas and I have decided I was keeping it to treat myself. We have been saving every penny we have been given over the past 3 years for a down payment for a house and I just wanted to treat myself for once. I usually don’t buy “fancy” yarn from the LYS (local yarn shops) and just settle for anything I can find at Michael’s, but not this time around. If there’s one thing I have decided for this year, it’s to let go of the guilt of buying nice yarn for my projects. It may mean I will have less projects I’ll be able to afford, but I will be nice to my knitting projects. I also bought some very nice Alpaca and Silk Mohair for the leg warmers. They will be fluffy, luxurious, soft and warm.

As for The Shepherd, it will be a slight plum colour made of 100% wool. I have purchased the skeins of Cascade 220 and cannot wait to cast this project on. It will probably take me all year to finish it, but I don’t mind. Knitting passes time and it keeps me calm so I will just plot along and it will get done eventually. Yesterday, I was on the hunt for a ball winder (ended up buying one off Amazon) and saw a stash of 10 skeins of Sirdar Escape in Fury. I couldn’t resist the price and took it home with me.

Copyright YowlYY

Copyright YowlYY

It’s a DK  wool/acrylic blend. I’m not sure what I will do with it, but I’m sure I’ll find some project for it.

I also have my eye on a few of Stephen West‘s projects (his Dustland Hat for the hubby, to name just one).

 

Crossfit-wise, my goals have remained the same:

  • Do an unassisted pull-up
  • Squat my body weight
  • perform a pistol squat on each leg

I’ve also added the following:

  • String 5 Double Unders in a row.

Right now, getting 1 is pretty much a miracle so getting 5 in a row would be awesome! I’m still mourning the fact that I’m returning to work on Friday and, therefore, won’t be able to be consistently going to Crossfit 3 days/week. One day at a time and keep focusing on the positive. At leas, I’ll still be able to go about twice a week!

Ok, the kids are up which means I have to go be a mom and help Ben out with breakfast. Happy New Year everyone and thanks for reading!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Letting Go And Slowing Down

  1. You have been through some challenges this past year as have I! (marriage included and I admire your forethought not to share details)… May the next year bring you many blessings. I pray some of our challenges end up being blessings so that we can gain strength in them.

    • Thank out for this. It means a lot to me. Some things are sacred and personal and as much as I want to be transparent on here for my girls, there are still some things I won’t discuss here. They can ask questions later and I’ll gladly answer them live, just not on here! 😉

    • Thanks! Not sure the hoodie will be finished this year, but the whole point of life isn’t the destination, it’s the journey to get there! 🙂

  2. Pingback: We’re Doing Good! | Ramblings of a Babymama

Leave a Reply

