To Béatrice

My sweet BeZU,

Today will be the 1st day of your life I don’t get to see you at all. I will leave for work before you wake up and you will be sleeping by the time I come back home. Don’t worry though, you will be in very good hands as you will get to spend the day with Daddy and Rina. I just can’t believe that it’s already time for me to go back to work. I was lucky enough to be at home for the past 14 months (2 months before you were born and 12 months of maternity leave) and I KNOW that we are lucky enough to get 12 months of maternity leave in Canada, so I really shouldn’t complain, but I also KNOW that I will miss you terribly today, tomorrow and everyday that I won’t get to be with you. I just hope you won’t hold it against me.

Happy birthday BeZU-Love!

Happy birthday BeZU-Love!

You see, you are a very special little girl in the way that you made our family complete. We knew we wanted you from the get go, we thought we lost you early on in the pregnancy, but you stayed with us and when you finally showed up, you made us a family of 4. You will always have a special place in my heart as you will always be my youngest child. Not to forget that you share a birthday with your big sister and that makes December 7 extra special in our household.

You are the silent observer, staring, from under your long dark lashes with your big brown eyes,  but you can be extremely loud when you want something. You have the most serious facial expression, but your smile and Eddie Murphy-esque giggles are out of this world. You are my cuddly girl and I absolutely melt in your arms every time you hug me. I never want to let go when you cradle your head in my neck, against my shoulder.

You make the weirdest monster noises, imitating us and I can see how smart you will be. You are kind and loving to your sister, fearless in wanting to be like her, to do everything she does. You are more like me in many ways than I could ever write down. Don’t ever change, remain fearless in front of new situations, but never be careless. Give people the benefit of the doubt, but don’t let them step over you. The world is at your feet, it’s up to you to seize it and make the best of it.

As for me, I have just a few simple requests: keep hugging me once in a while, wait for me to take your first steps and don’t ever forget that I love you with all my heart, now and forever.

Pretty girl!

Pretty girl!

Have a good day with Daddy and I’ll come kiss you in your sleep…

Love,

Maman Xxo

Leave a Reply

