Another Birthday And Another WOD

Last Tuesday, I celebrated my 36th birthday… at work… for 12hrs! It wasn’t so bad though because I had a wonderful pre-birthday weekend with my favourite people in the whole world (Ben and the girls, of course)! On Monday, I had an early dentist appointment and when I walked in, Ben and the girls sang me “Happy Birthday!” and I had cards from all of them waiting to be opened (they all made me cry, I’m a sap!) and a beautiful present from my husband:

A delicate ring with my birth stone (aquamarine)

A delicate ring with my birth stone (aquamarine)

Ben was working later that morning and I took advantage of a little bit of sun to go for a walk with my girls and we went to feed the ducks around Swan Lake. Rina had a blast feeding ducks and geese and I think Béa did too, although all she kept blabbering was: “Quack, quack, quack!” 🙂

Tuesday, I was at work all day, but it was ok because I decided it was going to be a good day no matter what. I was just going to make the best of it and it worked! It was a very busy and very tiring day, but I had fun through it all and it made the day go by fast. I was working another day shift yesterday and I was surprised by a wonderful homemade pumpkin cheesecake by the neonatologist who was working with us. She really took me by surprise by baking it the night before and bringing it to work for me in the morning!

Delicious homemade goodness!

Delicious homemade goodness!

I was in charge and it was another busy day, but the cheesecake made it worth my while and another co-worker brought me some flowers when she came on for the night shift. I felt all kinds of special and it made my day!

This morning was yet another early wake-up call and although I wasn’t really feeling it, I hopped in my car and drove to the Box for this WOD:

I managed the following reps for the Hang Power Cleans:

55#-65#-65#-65#-65#

I was really hoping to hit at least 70#, but Coach Caleb suggested I work on my hook grip (hooking my index fingers on top of my thumbs. over the bar) in order to get a better hold of the bar and my form wasn’t the greatest either, so I chose to stay at 65# and work on these instead of increasing my weights. I also managed to hit myself on the chin with the bar. Awesome!

For the WOD, I was paired up with Jamie and she rocked the rope climbs while I did the FG (lying rope climbs). I managed to do 4 for every rounds for a total of 60pts, and I forgot to keep track of my calories on the Erg. We finished with a total of 394.5 which isn’t amazing, but I gave it my all and I felt exhausted. It made me realize I have been off track with my diet for the past 3 months and I need to get back in the swing of things. My belly is all bloated up again, my face is breaking out and I am very low on energy. I find it hardest when I’m at work as there are always donuts and pastries being brought in. I just need to be stronger and resist the temptations! It’s all good though, I have realized I’m not on the right path and I am correcting the situation. I am a work in progress and it’s ok to make u-turns and chose the better road up ahead!

2 thoughts on “Another Birthday And Another WOD

Leave a Reply

