Crossfit 14.4: Close But No Cookie

I just completed my one and only attempt at 14.4 and I am feeling somewhat frustrated about the whole thing.

Ever since the WOD was announced last Thursday, whenever I thought about it, I would get all jittery and nervous with butterflies in my stomach. I don’t know why, I just did.

The WOD:

14 minute AMRAP:
60-calorie row
50 toes-to-bars
40 wall-ball shots, 20 / 14 lb.
30 cleans, 135 / 95 lb.
20 muscle-ups

Kevin graciously offered to be my judge and Ben and the girls came to cheer me on, once again. 3-2-1-Go!

I think I finished the row around 4:30-5:00, I forgot to look at my time before moving on to the TTB. Here’s the thing. I had never even attempted a TTB before today, but I was hoping to get one. Just one. That’s all I wanted. I chose the lowest bar on the rig and set up 3×35# plate as a platform for my feet (yes, I’m that short)! I spent the remainder of the time TRYING to get a TTB. Some reps I was far off, some reps I was within an inch of the bar, but I NEVER ONCE TOUCHED IT WITH MY FEET. I know I tried my hardest and I should be content with the effort I put in, but it is still incredibly frustrating to not have managed to get a single rep in. My final score was 60 (for the calories rowed on the Erg).

I entered the games without any expectations, really, but it is starting to wear me down and, I will be honest, I’ll be glad when I’m done with next week’s workout. I know I’m not an athlete by any means, but it is still frustrating to be faced with failures week after week. It is annoying to be faced with the reality that your best effort isn’t good enough. Maybe I am not cut out for the Open, even though it’s supposed to be all for fun in my case. Maybe I get too competitive or I’m too hard on myself. Maybe it’s the constant switch between day and night shift, being constantly tired, the fact that my diet isn’t optimal or maybe I’m just in a mental funk at the moment, but right now, I’m spent and feel like I have nothing left in my tank. I know I should be proud to have scored at least on every Open WOD so far, but I find it hard to celebrate even that little victory. I am currently on my 6 days off from work and it will be lovely to get back to being just a mom, a wife and a crossfitter during those days.

I stayed after my heat to watch a few people and judge Kevin. It was his second attempt and he killed it! I was honoured to get to judge him. He really impressed me! Now that I’m done judging you, I can say it loud and clear, you got this Kev, you totally killed it! (He doesn’t like to be cheered on DURING the WODs)!

I will leave you with a two short videos which include a short video of my attempts at T2B and a glimpse into a future Crossfitter…

8 thoughts on “Crossfit 14.4: Close But No Cookie

  1. Pingback: Progress Update: What 9 Months Into Crossfit Looks Like | Ramblings of a Babymama

  2. val you said your not an athlete i say b.s. if you were not an athlete you would not of stayed on the bar trying for 14 min.you did great and maybe you don,t see it but you are so much stronger now then you were just a few months ago.i also am feeling spent and will be glad when the open is done. kevin

  3. it takes the heart of an athlete to decide that you want to do the open. it takes an athlete to get out there and try those open workouts. the whole purpose is to see how you do with workouts you can’t scale. it’s to do what you can and to discover things to work on. We all paid 20 dollars to discover us and to be motivated by the beasts in the gym…… I’ve struggled through this stuff myself. Kudos to you for giving your all on 14.4. it was no joke dear.

    • Thank you for this. I’ve thought long and hard about my motivation for the open and crossfit in general and I know where I’m at now. Nothing like perspective to put things back into place!

  4. Gosh that workout kicked my butt this weekend too! Though, there was no way I could do TTB so I had to modify it down to leg lifts… Longest 14 minutes I’ve worked through in a while.

    I’m impressed that you worked so hard at the TTB, you’ll get there someday — I just know it! And hopefully I’ll be behind you too!

    • Thanks Megan! I kept pushing through. I will probably never be known at my box as one of these amazing athlete, but I will be known for my determination, my relentlessness and my will to give it my all! We are all in this together and the feedback I get on my little blog helps tremendously!

      • determination….. relentlessness…. will…. what do you think makes up an amazing athlete? it’s not the ability to perform. it’s the ability to keep trying and to inspire… most folks will tell you that while yes, the Games athletes are beasts and inspirational….. they derive most of their inspiration from those who continue to keep working. One of my biggest inspirations comes from a 60 year old woman at my gym… the other is my coach, and he is an absolute monster but he’s so modest about it and so incredibly encouraging to the rest of us. You may be known as an amazing athlete yet. 😉

Leave a Reply

