Never Lie Down!

After some more thinking about why I was in a Crossfit funk recently, I figured out one more reason. I only get to go to Crossfit twice a week now that I am back to work full-time. Since the Open started, one of these workout has been an Open one and therefore, I felt like I wasn’t getting a good workout (since I can never complete a full one. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure I would get my butt handed to me if I could finish one, but I can’t). Because of that, I really am getting only 1 good workout per week and that is simply not enough for me. Not enough to maintain my fitness, not enough to maintain my progress and not enough to motivate me.

This week, however, since I have 6 days off from work (did I tell you how awesome this part of my schedule is?!? Please remind me when I’m complaining about my stretch of only having 4 days off! 😉 ) I am able to squeeze 2 REAL WODs in and I can tell I have lost some of my fitness in the past four weeks of doing the Open. Contradictory isn’t it?!? I am still sore from the lunges on Monday, and today left me panting on all fours with shaky legs and arms.

 

For the Skill, I paired up with Tracey and although I didn’t manage a full set at 85#, I managed to do 1 rep at 85# and failed the other 2:

65#-70#-75#-80#-85# (2x = no rep), but I still feel good about it since my previous PR was 80#. Not regressing is good in my book!

 

For the WOD, I teamed up with Kevin and MarkO. They rocked it and even though we finished dead last at 26:09, I was super happy. I kept all my rounds under 2:15 with a resistance of 4. It was hard, but these were my best splits so far (I think).

2:13, 2:10, 2:08, 2:15, 2:08

I was the last rower on my team and everybody was cheering me on with an amazed Tracey being extra cheerful! 🙂 She knows what my splits usually are (between 2:20 and 2:30) and she was impressed with my last effort! Sometimes, being last isn’t so sucky after all!

After every round, I was so tempted to just lie down on the floor to catch my breath, but I didn’t. I was on all fours, head on my hands, heaving and breathing hard, but I didn’t lie down. That stubborn side of me was still very… stubborn! I was glad for such a challenging workout. It left me shaking, sweaty and with a silly grin on my face. I can’t wait to feel like that again after every workout!

4065b7ce3ed2633411b1ecab1b5f364b

Who am I kidding? I absolutely love Crossfit! 🙂

 

I came home and Ben was making pancakes to the girls. I celebrated with this recipe that was paleo-friendly and it was delicious and filling. It is yet another sunny day outside and I plan to make the most of it with the girls once we get back from Rina’s dance class!

Leave a Reply

