A WOD In The Park

I needed to get a second WOD under my skin before heading back to work tomorrow and I had been thinking about getting it done since last Friday, but I let life (and rain) get in my way. I finally decided on the Road WOD 6 from myWod App last night so I could do it indoors (in case it rained some more) or outdoors. I got up early with the girls this morning, got our morning routine done and out of the way before the clouds opened up (the days is still very cloudy, but no rain so far) and headed over to the Pink Elephant Park (as Rina refers to it)! My upstairs neighbour didn’t show up (she was still sleeping when I left)!

I really wanted to do 4 rounds of this WOD and incorporate 400m runs with each rounds, but I didn’t feel like I could be so far from the girls. The park is surrounded by busy streets and I didn’t trust Béatrice not to dash in the streets while I was doing a run. I instead I chose to do the WOD almost RX, modifying the sit-ups for park bench jumps (I didn’t feel like lying on my back on a hard trail full of hard little pebbles).

Easter WOD in the park

Easter WOD in the park

 

There weren’t too many people out and about and I was glad for that as I don’t like to “give a show” when I work out. When we go to the park closer to home, there usually is nobody this early in the morning and the park is surrounded by tall bushes and residential homes, so not many spectators.

Rina and Béatrice provided cheers for the first few rounds (Rina tried to do push-ups with me and was counting my reps: 6-4-12-8-7, according to her math skills 🙂 while Béatrice attempted to copy my squats for a few reps before heading on over to the slide). The last 2 rounds were slower as I had to keep an eye on Béa (she was starting to wander further away and closer to the street) and a stranger stopped by to have the following conversation with me

Stranger: It hurts just looking at you!

Me: That’s the whole point, isn’t it?

Stranger: My philosophy is “no pain, no pain”!

Me: Ha!

Stranger: Could I just give you one piece of advice, don’t bounce so much when you sit in your squat. Take the time to sit in it and then come back up. I wouldn’t want to see you pull a muscle or something

Me: (smiling and nodding) yes, uhuh, sure, ok, yep!

All the while I was thinking, you’re not supposed to pause at the bottom of your squat, but be nice to this man who probably means well and hopefully hasn’t been checking my butt while I was squatting away.

Oh well, another one for the books! I will be putting the girls to bed for a quick nap after we leave some carrots for the Easter Bunny and then, we’ll go on an Easter Egg Hunt when they get up!

Happy Easter everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

