Improved Mobility

I was up bright and early at 0430 this morning and was trying to will myself back to sleep for an extra 30 mins without much luck. I finally got up, put my newly acquired contact lenses (Hurray, no more glasses when being active!) and got ready for Crossfit.

Skill: After looking up my previous set of these (back in October), I was aiming for a 4 rep at 80#. Here’s what I ended up doing:

Back Squats

  • 10 x 70#
  • 8 x 75#
  • 6 x 80#
  • 4 x 90# (PR for the 10-8-6-4 component) 🙂

I’m pretty sure I could have have gone heavier, but I was trying to remain close to my previous set without going too much overboard.

WOD: There was a ton of people this morning at the 0600 class and the rig was full for the pull-ups since we weren’t staggering them, I decided to do ring rows instead. I chose to do the FG1 and I’m not sure if it was because of the ring rows, but it felt like an easy WOD to me. Here’s what I ended up doing:

5 rounds:

  • 5 ring rows, 40 single skips
  • 8 russian KBS (26#), 10 goblet reverse lunges (26#)

I was struggling so much with the skips. I had a rope that was too big for me so I had to make knots in it and it felt like my rope pulled to the left when I was skipping, it made me trip a lot. Normally, I would’ve strung out 40 single skips easily, but not today. I really need to look into getting my own rope, even if it’s just to do single skips. The most challenging part of the WOD was the goblet reverse lunges at 26#. It pretty much felt like I was kneeling and getting back up carrying Béatrice all the time! 🙂 I could definitely feel the burn in my bum!

I went to my chiropractor appointment this morning and although I’m still black and green from all the bruises the treatment is giving me (there is an active release component to the adjustment which is bruising me, the adjustment itself isn’t a bruise-inducing process) but is it very effective in getting rid of the tenacious knots in my lower back. All those knots were the culprits for my “fake sciatic ” pain as my chiropractor put it. This morning was the first time I could definitely see a difference in my lower back mobility. As I was warming up to my usual stretches before the class began, I realized that I could finally reach the floor with my hands while doing a lying torso twist (without lifting my bent knee off the floor). My chiropractor thinks I should be ok to end my treatments after my Friday adjustment. Hurray!

One thought on “Improved Mobility

  1. Pingback: Looking Back | Ramblings of a Babymama

Leave a Reply

