Work

I never blog about my job for the simple reason that I can’t discuss my patients as it would be a huge breach of confidentiality.

Today, I will make an exception. I won’t be talking about my patients, but I will be talking about work. Today, I come home dog bone tired. It has been an exhausting 2 days of constant non-stop at work. The kind of days spent making sure patients kept on breathing (breathing is ALWAYS mandatory on my shift!), making sure the parents of my patients feel confident and secure in their totally alien environment. Today was spent answering alarms, preparing food and feeding patients, choosing to help out co-workers when I had 3mins to myself instead of sitting down to catch my breath. Today was filled with unpleasant things like copious amounts of mucus and exploding poop, but it was also filled with thunder moments of witnessed cuddles. Even though I was ready to go home at 1400, my wonderful co-workers and I managed to sing and make up silly dances to keep us going. We pulled up our sleeves and kept chugging along.

I am a nurse, but more than that, I am a NICU nurse to my core. It’s in my nature to make sure everybody else is fine before I can think about myself. It’s the profession I have chosen for myself, but it’s more than that. Often I come home and find myself thinking about my patients. Will they be there when I come back tomorrow? Will they be better? Worst?  I take care of babies at work and come home to take care of my very own babies (ok, mine are not such little babies anymore, but you get my jist).

There are days when I wonder if I’ll be able to do this job for the next 25 years. Some days are harder than others. Some days are easier. Some are laid-back, some are non-stop action packed. I never know what I will walk into when I go to work, but I always know that I come home to hug my girls, whether they are awake and screaming or peacefully asleep, and I am lucky to be able to do so.

I’m not quite sure where I’m going with this post. It’s hard to write about my job without talking about my job! This week is nurses’ week. Today, the parents of one of our “graduate” patient brought lunch for the entire staff to say thank you. It was the perfect pick me up needed in the midst of this busy day. Sometimes, we hug parents to comfort them. Sometimes, we get comforted in return, whether it’s with tears, a smile or a simple thank you. I am lucky to be a part of so many people’s lives. This week is nurses’ week. If you know a nurse, just say “thank you”. These words mean so much to us. We don’t have “holidays off” or “weekends off”. We sacrifice our family lives in order to make yours better, we work 12-hr shifts days and nights. Just because we chose the profession doesn’t mean it’s always easy. So, if you think about it, this week, thank a nurse for all her/his hard work and dedication, I’m sure it will be appreciated!

We don't always get to cuddle babies, but when we do, we make sure we get good cuddles.

We don’t always get to cuddle babies in the NICU, but when we do, we make sure we get good cuddles. This was a patient of mine in 2007 with his mom and I when he got discharged to go home. I used to carry him in my hoodie “kangaroo style”. Smiles like his mom’s are the reason I love my job!

One thought on “Work

Leave a Reply

