Finally!

Ben came home after I went to bed last night and although my 0500 wake-up call came a bit too quick, I was ready to go. Why, you might ask? DEADLIFTS is why! I was so happy to see deadlifts on the skill for today when I checked the WOD last night. I have been doing Crossfit for a year and I have done deadlifts only 3 times before today. That’s because I’ve missed almost all deadlift days due to work.  Yeah, being a shift-worker really sucks sometimes!

Skill: I love me some tempo skills! It was nice to work on the deadlifts and I feel like I could have gone a bit heavier on them too. My thumbs are a bit sore from the hook grip, but it’s all good. Here were my reps:

65#-65#-75#-75#-85#

WOD: I was literally aiming for 3 rounds of FG2 for this. I know this is low, but I wanted to do all my push-ups from the toes. Also, it was my 1st attempt at doing lunges and farmer carries with a 25# plate (I usually take the 15#). The farmer carries were hard on the grip. The plate is wide for my little hands and I was glad to be switching hands every length of the gym. It was a lot easier from my right hand than my left one. I just kept telling myself “You’re holding on to Béatrice, if you let go, she will fall and injure herself”. It worked, I didn’t put the plate down once. I managed to surpass my expectations by doing 4 full rounds + 1 lunge for a total score of 121. I was proud as punch and it felt good.

I came back home to the usual dusting, cleaning, laundry and a quick walk to the grocery store with the girls. It’s nice that Béatrice can now walk to and from the grocery store without being picked up (except to cross streets). It makes for a longer trip, but I’m ok with it as long as I’ve planned for it. Ben was in and out of the house, still having to work before we head out on a little R&R trip to the beach and a friend’s wedding. Speaking of, I bought a very cute dress for the wedding and it’s a size bigger than I normally wear because it was too tight around my back and shoulder. I’m ok with that. I know I have gotten broader since starting Crossfit and I don’t mind the bigger size to accommodate my new-found muscles! I just hope my Crossfit bruises will heal in time and I will be able to show somewhat decent legs in my cute dress. I dropped a bar loaded with 80# last Friday when I was cleaning my front squats and it just glided off my leg before landing on the floor…

Photo 2014-07-21, 8 04 09 PM

Not-so-sexy leg

If it doesn’t go away, I’m sure I’ll hear a lot of negative talk about how unsafe Crossfit is… Oh well, it was my fault for not moving fast enough from under the bar.

We are in day 2 of weaning Béatrice from her soother and she’s still very vocal about how she’s not on-par with my plan. I have cut the tip of her soother, so it’s not as bouncy anymore and she doesn’t appreciate this change. Which means I have to go settle her down every 15 minutes upstairs. Which also means that I can feel my sore glutes from the deadlifts and lunges today. It’s a good soreness and I don’t mind the stairs! She only gets her soother for nap and bedtime. I’m hoping to get her off it completely by the end of the week. Keeping my fingers crossed!

 

Leave a Reply

