Crossfitting Away From Home

We are on our little (rainy) beach vacation in Parksville, BC at the moment and the clouds seem to want to clear up  so we can enjoy some beautiful sunny beach time. Of course, before we came out here, I had checked out affiliate boxes in the neighbourhood in order to get a WOD in. My choices were Crossfit Nanaimo or Crossfit Qualicum Beach. I opted for Crossfit Qualicum Beach after perusing their website and  I’m glad I did. It is a smaller box and from their Facebook page, it looks like they opened sometime in April or June of 2014 (don’t quote me on that, it’s just my little uninformed guess). I had the great pleasure of dealing with Lucas Bugg who is the Head Coach and owner of CFQB. I was the only one on site for the 0630 class so I also got the bonus of a private lesson. Score!

Lucas is a really attentive coach and you can tell he knows his stuff. Here’s what we did:

Photo 2014-07-24, 7 39 45 AM

Skill: Clean Squats. We worked on the progression with a PVC pipe and working our way to doing the full clean squat. It had been a really long time since I had done clean squats (we usually do power cleans) and at one point, I was overthinking things and complicated everything. It was easier once I did the progression with the empty bar (35#). Lucas gave me some pointers and reminders (which I needed. I have a tendency to get into the swing of things and forget a bit about form at times, so that was really helpful). I then showed him my burpees and we moved onto the WOD

WOD: I knew this one would be hard so I wanted to stay at 35# for my bar. I used the training bar (15#) + 2×10# plates. My plan of attack was to break the 21 in 3 sets of 7, the 15 in 3 sets of 5 and the 9 in 3 sets of 3. I stuck to my plan except for the 9 burpees which I did unbroken. Lucas reminded me to keep my knees turned out before I tackled the set of 9 clean squats and it helped tremendously getting through them. I finished in 14:23, sweaty and happy!I got to meet 2 regular members who were there for the 0730 class. Lucas offered for me to register for an oly lifting class on Saturday morning with Ed Fergusson, but we have some fun family things planned so I will have to pass on that one. I wish I had known earlier and planned accordingly though! 😉

All in all, CFQB is a nice little box and from what I could tell, Lucas is totally dedicated and very knowledgeable about having his members WODing safely. I’ll be sure to come back for more when we are in the neighbourhood. Please check them out as well if you’re ever the area!

I know a lot of my Crossfit Family is in Carson right now enjoying the Crossfit Games and although I am slightly jealous, I’ve been catching up online with the live stream. According to my husband, I look stressed out just watching the Games! Haha! Why wouldn’t I be? Have you seen the OHS yesterday??? That was some serious throw down!

 

One thought on “Crossfitting Away From Home

  1. Pingback: A Fun-Filled Day in Pictures | Ramblings of a Babymama

Leave a Reply

