Ain’t Nothing Sweet About This Sweet 16!

I tried to look up the WOD last night before going to bed, but it wasn’t up so I slept somewhat soundly after Béatrice woke up at 0030. I think she was a little cold with the fan blowing on her and I quickly gave her a blanket and went back to sleep. She woke up again at 0515, but it was Ben’s turn to get up as I was getting ready to leave for the WOD.

Skill: Tempo deadlift 5×3 E2M

I started those at 105# and they felt challenging, so I kept bumping up my weight by 5# with each rep looking like this:

105#-110#-115#-120#-125#

Those were tough, considering I did an extra one for each set by pulling up the bar first, then going into the 3-second down, pause 2 seconds and explosive 1-second up.

WOD: Sweet 16.

It was my 3rd time attempting this WOD. I had done it right after 14.5 with some modifications because my shoulders were bugging me at the time and had finished in 17:37 back in April. I had done 8 burpees then instead of the 6 push press and the back squats were at 55#.

Today, I wanted to push it. I went with 4 rounds of: 400m run, 6 push press @60# and 10 back squats at 60#. It was challenging. I was already sweating buckets from the warm-up and the deadlifts and I cannot fathom why anyone would go workout later in the day seeing as it was already so hot outside (and inside the Box)!

On my second round, Coach Caleb was telling me something, but I couldn’t hear him with the music and me focussing on my work, so I dropped the bar after what I thought was my 3rd push press to listen to him. It turns out I was doing push jerks and not push press. I picked up the bar again and re-started that round from the beginning. That’s what accountability is all about. If I cut corners short, I’m only cutting myself short. On my 3rd round of 400m run, I felt like crying. I just had a little mental chat with myself that went along those lines:

Don’t cry, there’s no reason to cry. Yeah, you’re tired, but you’re almost done. This is a choice you’ve made for yourself, to better your life. Suck it up, slow down your pace, breathe and keep  moving. There is absolutely no reason to cry.

It worked! I just kept taking short walking breaks and kept trotting along! I finished last again in 18:40, but I didn’t care. I increased my weight and still managed to finish under 20 mins (my secret time cap), so for me, this is a PR!

Just proof that once you tame your mind, your body can achieve a lot more than you first thought possible!

your-mind-will-quit

I read somewhere that when you think you are done, you are into 40% of what your body is capable of doing

I came back home and had to shower, but before, I had to do what felt like a whole other challenge… Get upstairs!

This felt like Everest this morning! See that lovely painter's tape on the side! ;)

This felt like Everest this morning! See that lovely painter’s tape on the side! 😉

Once I was all clean and ready to tackle the day, I made myself eggs and veggies and downed the whole thing with a delicious coffee made by my hubby!

All clean, but not back to my normal colour... It's hard to be photogenic when you're exhausted!

All clean, but not back to my normal colour… It’s hard to be photogenic when you’re exhausted!

 

Now, I have to go attack the long list of cleaning and unpacking left to be done this week!

Leave a Reply

