Choosing Rest to Become Stronger

I had a choice to go to Crossfit yesterday morning at 0600 or this morning at 0700 for the same workout. I chose to forgo my usual crew at 0600 yesterday and sleep in (ahem, until 0640, that is)! This meant I could also somewhat sleep in this morning, but it also meant I would have to go 2 days in a row (unusual for me) in order to make it 3x this week. It’s a choice I made and I’m totally comfortable with it. Today was a lighter skill practice and that meant I won’t be too sore (fingers crossed) tomorrow for class. As a full-time shift-worker, mother and Crossfitter, I want my workouts to remain challenging, but also fun, in a masochist kind of way ๐Ÿ˜‰ .

Skill: Handstand

3rd week doing these and I’m still struggling to balance off the wall or with a spotter, completely off the wall. I did, however, manage to get my wall walks with my belly up the wall last week and this week, so that’s a bonus. We did a few practices with kicking up our feet to the wall and I also managed to do a few practices with lifting one hand off the ground and alternating. This is all in order to get us ready to do handstand walks in the future. Nowhere near ready for this, but I feel strong and confident with my head inverted. I also need to keep up on this as we have enrolled Rina and BeZU in gymnastics class and I have a feeling it won’t be too long before Rina can do an unassisted handstand! ๐Ÿ˜‰

WOD: KipSkip

This looked easier on the board than it was. I wanted to do FG1+ by doing 10 DUs for each round before finishing the round with single skips and using the red and blue bands for my kipping pull-ups. However, after the 1st round, I soon realized I would be there for 20mins if I kept the 10DUs for each rounds and I went down to the FG1 (5DUs for each rounds, followed by single skips). I can now string 2 DUs in a row, which is much better than none, but I get fatigued quickly and then have to add a single skip in between my DUs.

As for my kipping pull-ups, I started the first 2 rounds doing C2B I had so much momentum, but that dwindled quickly. By the end of it, I had to break my 10 kipping pull-ups in 4-3-3 or 4-3-2-1. I finished in 9:25. This is what I looked like upon returning home:

Giving Medusa a run for her money!

Giving Medusa a run for her money!

My husband was commenting yesterday that my wardrobe is now noticing an influx of Lululemon apparel. He’s right. It’s funny, when I started crossfit a little over a year ago, I remember saying that I wouldn’t prance around in my booty shorts and my sports bra while I was working out. Nowadays, I feel so much more comfortable in who I’ve become. Not just about my physical appearance or my strength, but I feel comfortable enough around my Crossfit family to know that nobody there will judge my flabby belly if I decide to remove my tank during a WOD and keep working at it in my sports bra. It’s not like I flaunt it around, I usually cover back up once the WOD is over, but if I’m too hot to keep my tank top on, I feel comfortable enough to chuck it on the floor and keep pushing. So yes, I have become a bit of a Lulu-whore. That’s all that’s comfortable to me and I wear it on my days off at home as well. Nothing like a pair of tight capris or track pants with a tank top! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I’ve also recently ordered a couple of outfit from Fableticsย and will review them once I receive them. Funny how your perspective can change in the span of a year!

Leave a Reply

