New Gear Review and PRs All Around!

When I head outside early in the morning to go to the Box, my first instinct is to look up to the sky. This morning, as I looked up, I clearly saw the Big Dipper… at 0530… in the city. That’s how dark it was. The sky was full of stars and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky. Unbeknownst to me, I would be out of the Box with the sun barely just starting to rise on the horizon. Autumn has officially arrived!

Warm-up: I managed to string 4x DUs in a row today! Wahoo!

Skill: Hang Power Snatch + OHS

I started low with these, but manage to PR by 10# when I was done. My last rep at 60# was ugly for the Hang Power Snatch, but very decent for the OHS. My reps were: 35#-40#-45#-50#-55#-60#

WOD: Row 2K

That’s right… 2K! I chose to go in the second heat because I knew I’d be slow and didn’t want to hold back anybody who had to go to work early. I thought for sure I would be around 15:00 for this one as I couldn’t remember what my 1K time was. I know I’m usually slow at rowing and I’m only 5’1″ so that’s a double whammy! Here was my strategy for this WOD:

  • I started slow for the 1st 750m, trying to maintain around 2:35 split.
  • From 750m to 1000m, I tried to up it to 2:30.
  • from 1000m to 1500m, I was aiming for 2:20, but often fell back to 2:25
  • from 1500m to 1750m, I was trying to maintain 2:15, but it was hard to maintain at times
  • from 1750m to 2000m, I tried to go below 2:10, which is pretty fast for me in the shortest distances. It was hard, but my head was in the right place and I just kept fighting for it. This was all mental and I went in with a fighter strategy / mantra and it seemed to work. I was able to keep my split low and I finished in 9:36.1! I was so happy to be sub 10:00!

Earlier last month, Fabletics finally became available in Canada and I signed up for it, not expecting it to be anything out of the ordinary. For my 1st order, I ended up ordering 3 pairs of capris, a t-shirt, a tank top and a cowl. Everything fits beautifully and I’m keeping it all. I haven’t updated my capris for working out since before we moved from Montreal (over 6 years ago) and it is time for me to spoil myself with a new wardrobe, now that I’m feeling more comfortable in my new body. I’ve worked hard for it and I’m proud of it!

The capris are all wonderful quality, thick, but not too thick and soft and they all pass the “squat test”, meaning, they don’t go see through when you squat deep! I like that at 5’1″, they are still capris, even on my short person! They do fall off a bit when you do high impact activities and I found out quickly doing DUs and burpees in the warm-up today.

As for the tank top, I put it through the test this morning at the WOD. It has a built-in bra that offers medium support. Although it looks nice, it is definitely not a bra I will wear for high impact WODs. I will probably keep this one for around the house or for chasing the girls!

Here are the pictures of the outfits I’m keeping:

Capris I wore today

Capris I wore today

The tank top with built-in bra

The tank top with built-in bra

Screen Shot 2014-10-03 at 4.35.22 PM Screen Shot 2014-10-03 at 4.35.50 PM

Super cozy outfit for lounging around!

Super cozy outfit for lounging around!

I came back home after the WOD and went to run some errands before setting out to cook lunch. I had a friend coming over and even though Rina isn’t feeling well (fever and sores in her mouth, I guess it’s her turn to have hand/foot/mouth disease), it was a very lovely lunch with great company!

Tomorrow, I plan on cooking for the potluck on Sunday. Not only am I participating in my 1st Crossfit competition, it’s also a potluck! Gotta make sure to fuel these athletes! 😉

Leave a Reply

