Did Not Finish

s Screen Shot 2014-10-24 at 9.09.27 AM

Not because I gave up, but because I pinched a nerve in my neck or something and developed a splitting headache from the back of my left eye, all the way down my left shoulder. Let me explain…

I was looking forward to taking a break from the MFFL and rejoining my usual 0600 class. Ben will be leaving later today for the weekend and I was very much looking for some leisure “me” time at the Box. Funny how I just described a WOD as leisure! Ha!

I felt a bit sluggish, but not anymore than I usually am at the 0600 class! I mean, I did wake up at 0500 for 3 days in a row, but such is my life and I’m used to it by now. The warm-up was nice, especially the eagle dislocate. It offered a nice stretch in the elbows and forearms. Plus, Marika and I were letting out little “ga-kaw!” just for fun!

Skill: Kipping pull-ups

Things got sketchier there. I don’t know if I should have used bigger bands (I used red and purple), but I couldn’t just get the swing without any bands and I couldn’t kip either with the bands. I feel like I’m regressing on the kipping pull-ups and it’s not a nice feeling.

WOD: Khalipa Smash

I wanted to do this one at 55# with the 5 DUs and 40 singles. I started my 1st round and everything was going somewhat decent. I managed to get 4 back squats and then I started having a sharp pain bend my left eye. I took a break, with the bar on my back and a few breaths, did 2 more, took another break and finished my last 2 reps. I managed to do my 5 DUs and then my 40 singles, but I knew something was wrong. I tried stretching my neck as the pain behind my eye was now radiating down my left shoulder, but I just couldn’t shake it off. Coach Caleb came by, we talked it out and decided I shouldn’t push it any further. I started crying. That’s right, big sobs too. Not so much because of the pain, but Crossfit is MY time and that’s the only time I have to myself where I can do something I love uninterrupted. And now, I wouldn’t even be able to do that today because of a stupid tension migraine. I was not happy. I went and tried to roll my neck with a Lacrosse ball, iced it up while people were finishing up the WOD, but the headache was going nowhere. I went to the white board and wrote a big fat DNF next to my name.

I came back home and was still sniffling and frustrated about the whole thing. I still have a headache event though I took 2x extra strength acetaminophen and 2x extra strength ibuprofen. I didn’t snap a muscle or anything, I think it might just be a pinched or exacerbated nerve in the neck. The pain in my neck is almost all gone, but the headache behind the left eye is persisting. I guess this body of mine is trying to tell me to take it easy for the next few days and just enjoy my time at home with the girls while Ben is away. I plan on doing just that, so I can go back on Monday and work my butt off!

2 thoughts on “Did Not Finish

  1. I feel for you. I finally bought a workout video the other day and started out with the first circuit, intending to do just that for a few days and then slowly build up to more. Spraining my ankle kind of stopped that after just one day. 😦

    • You just have to do what you can in the meantime and then pick it back up. Can’t beat yourself up over the missed workouts, listen to your body and take things in stride. Focus on what you have power over, the rest isn’t worth worrying over! 😉

Leave a Reply

