Glutton For Punishment

After I had a lay-in (let’s be real: with a 4 year-old and a 2 year-old, there’s no such thing as sleeping in. You can lie in bed, but you sure as heck aren’t sleeping in!) this morning, We had a lovely breakfast of Nutella French toast topped with bananas (it’s Saturday, I’m working night shift tonight, leave me alone) and coffee and then I got to the usual laundry, dusting, cleaning toilets, vacuuming and mopping the floors while  Ben took the girls on the weekend errands (mainly Home Depot and Costco). For some silly reason, I thought I should get a workout in before my afternoon nap in order to be tired and actually sleep on my nap. You see, I,m working 13hrs tonight. My usual shift is 12hrs, but because of the time change, I get to work a whole extra hour! Not looking forward to it. It was too late for the Saturday WOD at CFVC, but I laced up my shoes and decided to go for a short run up to the Smith Hill Reservoir.

I’ll give you a minute to re-read the last sentence and let it sink in.

That’s right! I went running… Of my own free will! Not as part of a WOD or anything, I just took it upon myself to go out and hit the pavement. Sometimes, you have to work on your weaknesses and running is a major weakness of mine. In order to really tackle this one, I thought I’d make it even more challenging by adding elevation to it! It was pretty much uphill from our house until I reached the reservoir, then I galloped around on the trails at the summit and made my way back down home. It was a short one (time: 21:07, distance: 2.63km, average pace: 8:02, total climb: 108m) but I had to stop for a few walking breaks during the climbs at times. And it was better than to stay at home and be tempted by the leftover candies from last night! Pretty proud of myself for actually getting out of my comfort zone and doing something I’m not particularly fond of. Just working on my mental fortitude!

I have to say, I wore an outfit that completely didn’t match, but I didn’t care. I was comfy, my capris stayed in place the whole time and I was warm (it was only 10º outside). Speaking of my capris, I really like them. They are the Camacan Capris from Fabletics. I was also wearing the Ayni Sports Bra from them and it managed to keep all my jiggling parts in place. Just enough compression and support to avoid the dreaded jiggling sensation of having your bits shaking all over the place while you run.Perfect for they BabyMama!

Fun print and fun to wear!

Fun print and fun to wear!

I’m off to go fold the laundry and Ben just texted me a picture of the girls, stuffing their faces with poutine and hot dogs from Costco. Life couldn’t get any better for these two!

Happiness in a meal!

Happiness in a meal!

 

Leave a Reply

