Easy Gives Nothing

What a busy two days it’s been.

It started off at 0700 yesterday morning for this:

Skill: HSPU Practice (I did 5 sets of 5).

I started off with a yoga block and 5×5# plates, then I slowly decreased it to a yoga block and 3×5# plates. It was hard to do the reps and I need to remember to push my head through at the end of the push.

WOD: Mindy

I had done this one back in March and I had done so much better back then. I’m not sure what happened yesterday, but I did poorly. Maybe it was because I did 4x strict pull-ups with the red and blue bands for each round instead of 6 kipping one. Anyway, I finished with a score of 183 (6 full rounds + 3 box jumps) whereas I had done 209 back in March. It seemed like I was keeping a good pace too, conscious about not taking too many or too long breaks. I was a bit disappointed, but I still felt good about getting out there and moving.

I came back home to this:

Rina had gotten up to no good while Ben was still in bed and decided to cut Béatrice’s hair. This is what she used to look like:

Photo 2014-09-27, 12 42 59 PM

and now, she looks like she’s sporting the hairdo from Dumb and Dumber. I was lucky enough that  fellow Crossfitter who is also a hairdresser had some free time to try and arrange BeZU’s hairdo today. Her fringe is still very short, but it doesn’t look as bad as it was before. I miss her longer soft hair though!  😦

Then, I had to rush home, shower, stuff my face and take the girls to their gymnastics class, grocery shopping, lunch and nap, followed with play time outside, dinner, shower and bedtime.

This morning, I was up at 0400 and I tried to fall back asleep to no avail. I finally got up at 0500 and got ready for this:

Skill: Tempo Front Squat 6×2 E2M

I paired up with Emily and I worked up my reps like this:

65#-75#-85#-90#-95#-100#

The last rep was hard to get up from the deep squat after 2 seconds at the bottom with 100# on my front shoulders, but I managed to do it and I was quite happy to get 100#.

WOD: Jeepers

I had done this one back in August and I had scaled it like this:

  • 10# wallballs
  • 35# AKBS
  • 200 single unders
  • finished in 17:30

Having re-read my post entry for it, I knew I had to challenge myself more today. I did so by doing these modifications:

  • 1000m row
  • 14# wallballs (all broken into sets of 5. I had to “no rep” myself so many times! They were hard!)
  • 35# AKBS (I failed 2 reps and felt like giving up altogether, but I kept at it)
  • 20 DUs and 80 single skips (I managed the 80 singles unbroken).
  • I finished in 19:52

We had to separate into heats and I was into the second heat. I was still chipping at it by the time the 0700 class started. I then came back home to this:
Rina had been up to no good again and decided to do some wall art with SHARPIES!!! She also decided to put “makeup” on Béatrice and it was all over her face and arms. Ben cleaned up Béa while I was attacking the wall with a Magic Eraser. I had nothing left in my arms after the WOD and it felt like a workout!

 

Once I was done and Rina was ready to go to school, Ben gave me the present of taking both girls with him for Rina’s drop-off while I got cooking on this Chili

I made a few modifications by using

  • 1lb extra-lean ground beef
  • 1 lb lean ground turkey
  • only 3 jalapeños peppers
  • I added 3 carrots 1/2lb mushrooms and 1 medium green bell pepper and 1/2lb crisp bacon

It smells delicious in the house right now and I can’t wait to eat it topped with some green onions, a dollop of sour cream and some grated cheddar cheese! It hasn’t been an easy 2 days, but then again, easy gives nothing!

Leave a Reply

