Getting Better

Tonight I had a bath.

Not just a quick, rub-down, get out because the girls are screaming bath, no siree.

I had a relaxing, candlelit bath. All by my lonesome self. Sure, it wasn’t very long (about 15 mins) compared to my reading sessions in the bathtub pre-kids and the girls were still picking at one another, but they were downstairs with Ben and I managed to relax a bit. I think the last time I took a bath with some candles, I was pregnant with Rina.

The girls are growing up slowly and they are getting more and more independent as the days go by, which means, that sometimes, I get to enjoy 15 mins to myself! It’s not much, but it’s a start.

Then again, I can never stay away from the girls too long. I still go kiss them in their sleep every night. While Rina is a mess of hair all over her face and never usually has her blankets on her, Béatrice just lies in her toddler bed and smiles in her sleep EVERY TIME I kiss her. It warms my heart to know that she is happy, even while sound asleep. The constant inner tug-of-war of this BabyMama: needing time for myself and wanting to be with the girls. It’s all about balancing it all!

 

Leave a Reply

