Resting

I did my night shift at work and came home yesterday morning to a more relaxed routine. Rina is still on break from pre-school which meant we didn’t have to rush to get everybody ready and out the door. I helped Ben out with breakfast, showered and came downstairs to boil water for my hot water bottle. Sometimes, I wonder what I’d do without my hot water bottle. I usually shove it at the foot of the bed to keep my feet warm so I can get a few decent hours of sleep. Without it, I’d probably be up many times, having to run to the washroom because of cold feet (yes, cold feet make me pee, go figure). As I was waiting for the kettle to be done, Rina came downstairs and announced she had a surprise for me. I filled up my bottle and went upstairs with her. She had gotten everything ready for me to get into be: turned down the blankets, got my earplugs and eye mask ready on my night stand. She truly is the mothering kind of 4-year old! Lol! Ben and both the girls tucked me in and I slept for 4 hrs before getting up again and continue with our day. I had a bit of a runny nose all night last night, but nothing too crazy

After a more solid 7hrs of sleep, I woke up this morning, made a hearty breakfast and headed into the Box for a fun WOD.

Skill: Hang Power Snatch 5×3 E90s

Coach Cam was coaching us this morning and he got me to demonstrate the skill for everyone. Talk about pressure to perform! 😉 I warmed up by doing the demo with an empty bar and then with 40# (where I wanted to start. Coach Cam said we could do 1 OHS at the end of every set. I managed to do everything at 60#, a new PR for me! I did my reps like this:

40#-45#-50#-55#-60#

I guess those Oly lifting classes are started to pay up!

WOD: Jackita

I got paired up with Chris and Kirsten for this one and I started up with the strict pull-ups. I did all mine with the blue and purple band and managed to do 12 in the 1st round before moving to the thrusters, where I was consistent through all rounds and managed 8 reps on each rounds. The Erg was probably my demise in this WOD, but 1 min went by fast and then, it was back to the pull-ups. I only managed 6 reps before going back for 8 more thrusters and the Erg again. I was getting ready to gear up for something longer when Coach Cam screamed that we were on to the last round. I felt like I should have been going for another 2 rounds or something. I managed 8 pull-ups, 8 more thrusters and the Erg one last time. We totalled 116 cals on the erg and with the other reps combined, managed a total score of 297. Not too bad!

I honestly think the Skills Plus class are starting to make a difference. I felt good during the thrusters and was really using my hips on the drive up.

I came home, showered and made my food menu for the week as well as the grocery list to go with it. I had a quick lunch and went to get groceries by myself! What a luxury!

The girls napped, I prepped some food for my cooking day tomorrow and Monday and folded some laundry before sitting and knitting on the couch, while bingeing on Gilmore Girls! Ben made a ton of homemade doughnuts (we gave some to our tenant and 2 neighbours, that’s how much he made!) and now the house smells like fried oil and I’m nauseous. I’m not really hungry and I’m not sure if it’s because of the smell or if I’m getting sick, but I’ll stick with soup for dinner tonight and will take it easy for the rest of the evening. I’m drinking lots of water and hoping to drown whatever is putting me under the weather. Keeping my fingers crossed it works!

Leave a Reply

