Growing Up

That face!

That face!

This little lady has spent her entire day wearing big girl underwear (except for her nap) and has had zero “accidents”. She’s growing up so fast and I’m realizing that I don’t have a baby anymore. I remember clearly during the middle of the night breastfeeding sessions, wishing I’d be done with all those interrupted nights and now, although those moments are rare, I’ll admit, I sometimes find myself missing that closeness one experiences during those cherished moments of motherhood. Thinking back, I don’t think I have a single picture of me nursing Béa and although I probably wouldn’t post it on here, it was something I was very proud of, just because I was never successful at it with Rina. I wish I had one now to immortalize that accomplishment.

As if on cue, Rina (who is sick with a little cold and tonight) woke up a few hours after she fell asleep and called out to me. I met up with her upstairs and she asked if I would cuddle with her as she curled back up into her bed. I obliged her and she fell asleep in no time in my arms, something she rarely did as a baby. She was always my free-spirited child, my independent one from the get-go.

As they grow older and more independent, those cuddle times become more and more precious. Don’t tell them, but I always take a huge smell of their hair when they let me cuddle them. My babies might be growing up, but to me, they’ll always be my babies.

#growinguptoofast

Leave a Reply

