Back In The Saddle And Saving Grace

After a (very long to me) break of 13 days, I finally made my comeback to the Box this morning. I’m still snuffly and coughing, but I couldn’t face another day without a workout, so I dragged my butt out of bed at 0500 and got ready for the 0600 class. It felt good to be back. I warmed-up a little on my own, worked on my (still elusive) DUs (I managed 3 in a row) and I was happy to see the familiar faces I know so well and some new ones as well.  I had looked at the WOD last night and I knew I would be looking for my lung capacity on that one, with still being sick and all, but I was ready to tackle it.

 

Skill: Front Squat 7×2 EMOM @ 85% 1RM

For me, that meant 100#. I was already feeling tired, but I stuck to that weight for all reps. I really need to work on keeping my chest up on the “up” and engage my glutes instead of leading up with my butt. Yeah, that was tiresome. I tried as best I could to correct my form, but just couldn’t do it today. 😦

 

WOD: Mullback Mile

I did FG1 for this one with the following modifications:

4 rounds of

  • 400m run (ha!)
  • 6x power clean @65#
  • 12 SD box jumps

I knew 65# would be hard after all those squats and combined with the box jumps and the runs, but I was determined to do it at this weight. We set off and I quickly fell off the pack. Running is not my strong suit, running when sick, even less so. I still managed to “run” all my rounds without stopping, even though it felt like I was crawling at times, I just kept moving. Upon returning from my last run, I needed to get out of my head in order to forget the work left to accomplish once I got inside. I chose to focus on the majestic sunrise I was privy to watch on the downhill part of our running course:

My saving grace this morning

My saving grace this morning

Don’t worry, I didn’t take this pic while I was running, I went back outside once I was finished to immortalize that gorgeous sunrise. 😉

I finished the WOD second-to-last at 18:14. Kris was still working and Mark was his usual gentleman and accompanied him (while he cheered me on) for his last run. It’s people like that who make all the difference when you are struggling during a WOD. I heard every encouragement and cheer coming my way. I may be too out of breath to answer back, but I hope “my people” know how much this means to me and how appreciated it is. I try to reciprocate whenever I catch my breath as well!

I came back home and Rina was complaining of having goobers in her eyes as well. Oh yeah, I ended back up in the walk-in clinic yesterday for Béatrice this time. She has pink eye and green crap was oozing out of both her eyes. She is now on antibiotics. That’s a total of 4 visits to the walk-in clinic in 2 weeks. Maybe I should cancel my Crossfit membership and take one at the walk-in clinic instead… On second thought, maybe not! I’d rather work out and be healthy than spending my days in a waiting room to see a doctor. I do enough sitting and doctors at work! 😉

Leave a Reply

