Customer Service Fail VS Win

Picture this.

A mom is entering the shopping mall at opening time with two young toddlers, say ages 2 and 4. She has recently lost some weight and when she does her Crossfit workouts, her undies slip down to her knees inside her leggings, so she’s hoping to buy new (smaller) undies and bras (because yes, the boobs have also shrunk with the weight loss).

She enters a store (Ahem Aerie) where they have a sale on undies (buy 7 for a certain price), but the undies aren’t all the same models. Now, the mom has already spent 15 mins in the change room trying on bras and she feels her 2-year-old getting close to her waiting limit (i.e.. she’s now comfortable in her new environment and is now playing tornado with her older sister in the store), so she’s hoping to try on the undies with a new time PR only to be told by the clerk that there is a limit of 1 undies in the change room at a time… Do you seriously expect me to get undressed and get dressed up again 14 different times (that’s how many undies I had to try on) with 2 young children with me??? You have got to be kidding me! I bought the 2 bras that fit me and walked out of that store after I made a point of explaining my situation to the cashier and how it was a big fail for their customers.

I walk into a different lingerie store (Ahem, La Senza). The clerk sets her up in the biggest changing room they have so the mom can have her young children with her while she tries on undies. After selecting a few models (she tried on more than one at-a-time in the fitting room), the clerk happily gives the two toddlers shopping bags while the mom puts her selection in her daughter’s bags. The clerk even leaves the mom for a minute, only to return with stickers for the little ones. Now, That’s winning customer service! Not only did I find undies that fit on a discounted price, but the clerk was amazing at helping me out dealing with two slowly-growing-impatient children! Kudos to you Miss Manager!

Then, the mom decides to stop at American Eagle (a sister company to Aerie) to try on a few tank tops. She decides on 4 that she likes (same model, different colours. Hey, if it fits you, buy in bulk!) She asks a clerk if there’s a discount if she buys more than one. The clerk scans the tank tops, but says that unfortunately, they are all regular price ($17.95). Fair enough, I like the tank tops enough to pay full price.

I get to the register and the friendly clerk starts scanning my purchases and then I see discounted prices appearing on the till screen.

Me: Oh, so there is a sale on them if you buy more than one after all?

Clerk: No, but I gave you a discount because you were buying so many.

Me: Wow! Thanks for this, I really appreciate it!

Turns out, he gave me one free tank top out of the four I purchased! Customer service win again! How come one company was so accommodating, while its sister company was so… not?!?

I guess I’ll never find out, but as a reward to my very patient fashion consultants (Rina & Béatrice) we ended our shopping trip at Toys R Us and they are now the new owners of bright pink little scooters! (Ok, I had planned all along to get them the scooters, but I may have mentioned a surprise for them if they behaved while shopping… Don’t tell them!)

Leave a Reply

