Prove Your Fitness

“Prove your fitness” is the slogan for the 2015 Crossfit Games. Since the Open has started, I haven’t really thought about how this has applied to me because:

  1. I have done 2 of the 3 WODs scaled
  2. The only Rx WOD I have attempted (15.2), I only got 10 reps (the OHS).

So yeah, not really proving anything there! I did, however, prove some fitness this morning for the team WOD. I also proved I can accomplish almost anything even when suffering from sleep deprivation. Béatrice was up to no good again last night and she kept me up until 0130. That made for a long day considering I had been up since 0500 and had to get back up at 0530. I get up early, go walk Duke for 30 minutes, feed him and then go about my normal routine. So far, it’s working great. If I need to leave the house, I put him back in his crate until Ben gets him out. The lucky dog got breakfast twice this morning… We are all adjusting to our new routine and Ben didn’t know I fed him before leaving for Crossfit, so he fed him again! 😉

Alright, back to proving my fitness:

WOD: Pull Popper

I teamed up with Megan and Tayna for this one and we all did a version of TG+. We all had different bar weight to start with on the hang power snatch, but I started mine at 40# and stayed there for the entire WOD. We all did 4 rounds of:

  • 150m row
  • 10x hang power snatch (40#)
  • 5 bar hop burpees
  • 150m row

I volunteered to go first and I gave too much too fast on my 1st row, with a pace close to 1:59 (way fast for this tiny turtle). I was gassed for the hang power snatches and 40# felt real heavy, real quick. The burpees were fluid and I managed to do them all throughout without ever resorting to “granny” burpees. I went back to the erg and keep a pace closer to 2:06, more reasonable, but still a sprint for me.

2nd round came about and I did kept my first row close to 2:05. My new goal was to keep my first row pace somewhere 2:05-2:10 go do the hang power snatched and burpees, come back to the erg and keep my second pace around 2:10-2:15. It worked. I was able to maintain those paces and somewhat pick up the speed on the 3rd round of hang power snatches and burpees. I love how fluid the burpees felt today, no struggle at all. I felt strong doing them, mind you, it was only 5, so maybe that’s why. I was pooped when I was done with my fourth round and was glad I only had to cheer my partners now that I was done! We finished with a team total of 36:24. My throat was dry and sore for breathing so heavy and no amount of water helped 😦 Had I just experience my first Firebreather moment? I looked it up online and here’s what I found:

Firebreather – Fie-r’-brë-th-er: (n) 1. One who faces the triumphs and tribulations of great physical opposition with an indomitable spirit. 2. An optimistic energy associated with the heart of an athlete. In the modern fitness culture, every athlete yearns for the day they will be referred to by their athletic capacity as a Firebreather. However, as the definition implies, the term “Firebreather” is representative of both body, mind and spirit. Any athlete who strives valiantly during exercise while displaying an indomitable spirit is walking the path of a true Firebreather. (Source)

Come to think of it, I may have been a Firebreather all along without my knowledge. I sure never quit during a workout and I try to remain positive through the tough ones… Learn something new everyday!

I cam back home, helped the girls get ready for gymnastics, enjoyed a lovely cup of coffee before I tackled the “pre-night shift cleaning and laundry” tasks. Duke was sad when the crew left fro gymnastics:

Photo 2015-03-17, 9 04 23 AM

I was almost done with the cleaning when they all came back and then I took everyone for a walk to to the grocery store to get us some lunch. I could tell everyone was tired and Béatrice has been sleeping ever since I put her down for nap. Rina hasn’t, but she is playing quietly upstairs. Duke, is catching some weed deserved Zzzs.

Photo 2015-03-17, 12 46 26 PM

I think everybody is slowly falling into their new routine with the dog being our newest addition to the household and Béatrice is slightly less neurotic today about the dog being in the house… Slightly is the key word. I am hoping everybody goes back to normal within reasonable delays and we all learn to live as a united family with a dog very soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

