Seeing Stars

I really didn’t want to go to Crossfit last night when I went to bed and even though I really wasn’t in the mood, I took my clothes out and put them at the ready in the bathroom for this morning. I’ve had a cold all week and had a crappy sleep last night with my night ending at 0400. I was more than ready to come out of bed at 0500.

Here’s what I was anticipating:

Source

Source

Skill: Back Squats 5×5 E90S

I was actually looking forward to these last night and I kept it with a minimal PR goal of 5#. My previous attempt at theses ended up at 100# and I was planning to end at 105#. I secretly wished I could have done 110#, but my energy level was too low today. On the 4th rep of the last round (my round at 100#), when I came out of the squat, I was seeing stars and black spots in front of my eyes and said so outloud. Coach Caleb came by and spotted me on the last rep and I really had to fight for it, but I managed to do it without being rescued out of it. Yeah, glad I stuck to 105# today!

WOD: Blower

We had to have 3 heats for this one since there were so many of us and only 6 ergs. I was lucky enough to be in the first heat. I knew I would struggle through this one with my lungs not being 100% from my cold, but at the same time, my goal was just to get moving today. I finished with a score of 695 (3 full rounds + 65m rowed into the 4th round) and even though it’s a low score, I’m glad I managed to even get that much! I was happy and out of breath when it was all said and done and I went on to cheer my peers in the other heats.

I came back home, walked the dog up to the reservoir and tried to jog back down with him on his leash. I’m slowly trying to teach him to run on his leash as all he wants to do when we’re jogging is jump and bite my hands. It’s a slow process and the entire thing probably lasted less than 10 minutes (don’t worry, I know I’m not supposed to be running a puppy, I’m just trying to slowly bring him to good manners on his leash) and we managed to shave about 5 minutes to our walk time. Next time, maybe I’ll try to “run” up the reservoir as well (he’ll do just fine walking next to me as I slowly and painfully huff and puff my way uphill 😉 ).

I came back home, made a delicious breakfast of gluten-free toast layered with hummus, salsa and a sunny-side-up egg, a side of sausages and cherry tomatoes and a nice coffee. Don’t diss the toast until you try it, it is absolutely delicious and my favourite breakfast at home! Ben took both girls with him when he drove Rina to school and extended his outing by getting a haircut, which meant I had an empty house to myself to clean. I can stay focused on the task way better when the girls are not calling out for me every 5 minutes and that meant that I had dusted, vacuumed, mopped the upstairs, cleaned the downstairs bathroom and finished off 3 loads of laundry (folded and put away too!) by 1115! I had a few minutes to play with Béa before heading out to pick up Rina at preschool. We came back home, had lunch, they watched a bit of TV and they are now down for nap/quiet time while I finish this post and will then relax with some knitting. Nanny will show up later so I can also nap before my night at work. The glamorous life of a full-time working mom/RN!

Leave a Reply

