Making Progress

I got to “sleep in” this morning until 0600 and went to the 0700 WOD.

When I got there, Zeke was running his class which meant the Box was open and I got more time to warm-up and work on some stuff. The rings were down and I managed to get them high enough to work on my TTB (toes-to-bar). Jessica showed up and she gave me some pointers to work on (mainly, engaging my lats and starting from the back position in order to use the swing aka kip motion as momentum).

Below is what a TTB should look like from the pull-up bar:

I went on the rings and tried to apply her tips. I surprised myself on the first rep when my toes actually touched the rings! First time ever I managed to get my toes up that way since I started Crossfit 21 months ago! I tried a few more times with one more successful rep before I took a little rest. I then went on to the pull-up bar and it was a little harder since I don’t touch the ground at the beginning of my TTB. That means I have to really engage my lats and shoulders to kip myself backwards and forwards in the movement in order to swing my toes up. I didn’t manage a successful rep, but came close. I was pretty happy with having been able to do some on the rings though! 🙂

I warmed-up some more on the Airdyne and then went to work on my pistols down to the bench. I did 10 reps total (5/leg) and it felt good. It was a good indicator as to where to position my ankle on the squat down. Once I was done with my “personal warm-up” it was time for class to begin.

Skill: Deadlift 5 reps, Handstand Pushups 5 reps, alternating E90s x 4 rounds

We were to start with the DL x 5 for the first 90s, then move onto the HSPU for the next 90s. Once that was done, it was 1 round and we were to repeat for 4 rounds. I warmed up my DL at 105# and that’s where I was planning on staying at and really working on keeping that bar touching my legs on the up AND down, but Coach Caleb came by and told me I should go up to 115#. I was a good student and added 2×5# on each side of my bar. For the HSPU, I used 2×5# plates and a yoga block. I tried to remove 1×5# plate on round 2 & 3, but had to put it back on for the last 2 rounds.

WOD: “A Few Minutes with Cindy”

I wasn’t sure what to use for scaling the pull-ups so I grabbed a red and orange bands and went to set up on the bar. I tried one rep with the red band only and managed a rep! I figured I’d leave it at the red band for the WOD and kept the orange band ready to go, but on the side. I knew my reps would be low for the pull-ups, but at least, I would be using less resistance.

3-2-1-Go!

I managed the following reps on my pull-ups: 6-8-8-6

and a total reps for each round: 58-56-59-61

For a total score of 234! Not to bad! I made up some ground in the air squats since my pull-ups were so low and I think I averaged 14-20 HRPU per rounds.

Overall, I was super happy with the work I’ve put in today! Managed a few ring TTB and pull-ups with the red band only!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go be a mom and feed my kiddos some lunch! 😉

6 thoughts on “Making Progress

  1. Whew man this is a gnarly way to start the day, I like it! I’ve never thought to do toes to bar on rings though… Does it help with stability once your on a solid bar?

Leave a Reply

