So Slow

After being under the weather for 2 days (nausea, vomiting and upset stomach) (NO, I’M NOT PREGNANT!) I decided to drag my butt to Crossfit this morning since, you know, it’s “just a lifting class”! Ha!

Today was a repeat of what we did on August 2nd and I was hoping to do a little better.

Photo 2015-04-30, 5 56 24 AM

Squat Snatch 3-3-2-2-1-1 E2M 

My 70% of the last testing we did on the snatch is 42#, therefore, I started my reps at 40.

  • 40#x3: felt good and I felt like I was able to drop into the squat easily
  • 45#x3: felt good as well
  • 50#x2: was a little trickier. I didn’t have the big bumpers on and starting from the shins, I was struggling to keep my shoulders in front of the bar on my starting position.
  • 55#x2: I failed both reps (one falling on my butt and the other, I couldn’t drop into the squat), even though I tried for a third rep as per Coach Caleb’s instructions.
  • 55#x1: I managed to do it! Yay!
  • 60#x1: Boy that was an ugly rep! Very slow in dropping into the squat. I need to trust more and just drop into it! It was a successful rep, but it was ugly as heck! That’s ok, 60# has been my 5×1 in the test weeks as well, so I guess I’m slowly getting there!

Split Jerk from rack 6×2 E3M

I had 1 testing score of 80# for the C&J so I used that weight to go from. I was aiming to end at 75#, but it didn’t happen today. I started at 50# and worked my way up by 5# each rounds. On the 5th set (70#), I was struggling to get my the bar behind my head on the landing, so I stayed there for my last set and managed a lot better. It’s still a 5# improvement from 3 weeks ago! 🙂

I am now looking forward to a chill day at home with the girls. Although, I think the girls have other plans. Here’s what the living room looked like at 0830 this morning:

Princess train in the living room!

Princess train in the living room!

and a massage at lunch time. Hopefully, the massage will work out the left-over toxins out of my system and I’ll feel more energetic tomorrow.

Meanwhile, here’s another shot of the girls while Béa is going around asking for coffee #idontthinkso!

Photo 2015-04-30, 9 10 28 AM (1)

2 thoughts on “So Slow

  1. If there’s one theme weaving through this article, it’s the fact that you’ve noticed everything you did wrong, and now you know what to work on! You’re gonna be great because you’re aware enough to see the mistakes and not just the PRs, way to go!!

    • Thanks! I’ve got really good coaches who are great at noticing what I do wrong! One thing I’ve got going for me is that I’ve always focused first on form, then on adding weight. I figure it’s easier to get a great basis, then work on loading up!

Leave a Reply

