Fight Gone Bad

After my massage on Thursday, all I wanted to do was sleep the day away. I set my alarm for 0500 with the best intentions of attending the 0600 WOD on Friday, however, I woke-up at 0445, turned my alarm off on my phone and slept in until 0630. Sometimes, a BabyMama just has to choose rest.

After all that extra sleep (!), I was ready to throw down in style. I reached out to Listen Linda and asked if we could possibly get together on Saturday at Crossfit Stasis (her box) and finally throw down together. I call her Listen Linda because of this little gem of a youtube video:

Surprisingly, we were able to arrange to get together for the 0900 WOD and Listen even offered to pick me up!

All thug-like (actually enjoying 30 secs of peace in the sun)

All thug-like, waiting for my ride (actually enjoying 30 secs of peace in the sun)

We arrived at the Box and Listen introduced me to EVERYONE in the joint. Everybody was very friendly and welcoming, but nobody outdid Coach Bruno. This dude is the happiest go-lucky person I’ve met in a long time and he is super friendly. I felt welcome and confident in getting the warm-up done and Coach Bruno did a good job of going through the notions of the WOD. Little did I know, I had walked into my very first attempt at Fight Gone Bad

Photo 2015-05-02, 6 51 23 PM

For some reason, the board at Crossfit Stasis said the Rx weight for women was 45# and that’s what Listen and I ended up using. Had we known, I’m sure we would have done 55#. Listen kicked my squatting a** and I was in awe of her form during the SDHP. She looked so strong and confident! For my part, I managed ok for a 1st time attempt with a score of 173. The wallballs threw me off because the size of the ball at Stasis is different from the one I’m used to at VicCity. I had so much fun (ok, not really during the WOD, but after it was all done, I really did!) getting to be comfortable in a new environment. I had never done SDHP before, but with Coach Bruno’s instructions, I felt confident doing them (legs slightly wider than shoulder-width, keep the bar close to the body).

It really was a unique experience getting to share such a benchmark workout with this beautiful lady. We will definitely have to repeat this experience!

It really was a unique experience getting to share such a benchmark workout with this beautiful lady. We will definitely have to repeat this experience!

Listen drove me back home and the girls were pretty much ready for Ben and I to leave them with her (they love her THAT MUCH!), but we had other plans. I had a quick shower and then we headed out to the Juan de Fuca Trail and China Beach with the girls for a fun sunny day on the beach. I took a few pics, but I have now come to the conclusion that while Rina is truly at her happy place on the beach, she doesn’t stay still long enough for me to capture that happiness in a picture! Below are my favourites from today:

There is something so powerfully beautiful about a dad and his girls!

There is something so powerfully beautiful about a dad and his girls!

Béa is growing up so fast!

Béa is growing up so fast!

On the way back home, we (of course) stopped by Mom’s Café in Sooke for the traditional bowl of salmon corn chowder and some crazy big slices of pie. We came back home, everybody cleaned up and cuddled on the couch watching Beauty and the Beast before we put the girls to bed. I’m secretly hoping they will be tired from their day and drift off to sleep quietly. It’s rare that Ben and I get to enjoy a quiet evening together and if we could manage one tonight, it would top off this perfect day beautifully!

Hope your Saturday was just as awesome as mine! 🙂

Leave a comment