No Longer Afraid

I’ve been thinking a lot about my Crossfit journey lately. What it has brought to me, how it has changed me and the benefits of it all.

For the past 21 months, I have been (mostly) attending the 0600 class, which means that I have been waking up at 0500 in order to go workout. I know, right? For some people, this seems unfathomable and a little on the cray-cray side of things. It is what works for me and my family and obviously, if I’ve stuck to it for so long, it’s because I enjoy it!

I remember the first few months, how I was apprehensive about the WODs. Now, I don’t even think about checking in advance what the workout will be. Sometimes, I will, just to make sure I have everything I need in my bag or to compare the weights I used previously in order to go heavier. I no longer apprehend WODs, instead, I strategize and plan to be efficient. Proof is, I tackled Fight Gone Bad over the weekend without any prep and we just tackled Nancy this morning.

To say that I am more mellow is something only the people close to me will notice. I am still the spirited (ahem), unfiltered French girl amongst the “anglos” around me, but I no longer let the little things get to me. I tackle struggles in strides, one rep at a time, one step at a time. Don’t get me wrong, I still stand out with my personality, I have just mellowed down a bit!

Yep! Still the same, just muted down a bit!

Yep! Still the same, just muted down a bit!

 

I can now lift heavy things or people by myself. A few months ago, I deadlifted one of these puppies at work to help out a co-worker move the ventilator tubes from underneath the wheels. Mind you, I only deadlifted the one side so probably about half the weight of this beast, but it’s still about 140lbs! :

 

The Giraffe Omnibed incubator by GE

The Giraffe Omnibed incubator by GE

I can also carry both my kids upstairs on my body when bedtime comes around, even when I’m sick. Last week, Rina wanted me to pick her up while Béatrice wanted to hang onto my back to go upstairs at bedtime. I had kept Nanny around because I was nauseous and not feeling well. She was impressed when she saw the monkeys hanging off me while I made my way up the stairs. That is 60lbs of little humans to carry upstairs! I can also move furniture without my lovely other half around. The downside of this is I also assume everybody else should be able to do the same… I need to learn to lower my expectations! 😉

Today's WOD Source

Today’s WOD
Source

Speaking of expectations, I had none for Nancy this morning. I had only ever done the 3 rounds of Nancy previously and it was terribly scaled down for the OHS weight. You can see by yourself:

Dowel only or training bar

As you can see on my results, I was using the wooden dowel only or a dowel with a 10# plate on it x 15 reps for the OHS  and only doing 3 rounds of the whole thing (running 200m on my 1st attempt and running 400m on my second). Can you say I’ve progressed tremendously since then? Lol!

Here’s how I modified it today. Still not RX, but getting closer.

5 rounds of:

  • 400m run
  • 15 OHS @ 45#

I split up my OHS mostly into sets of 8 reps, followed by 7 reps. I probably could have done 55#, but I don’t think I would have been able to split my OHS like I did today. Nancy sounds easy when you look at it on paper (or on the screen), but when you really analyze it, it’s a 2km run with 75 OHS. If you want to look into it even deeper, the way I scaled it today was 2km run and squatting overhead 3375 lbs (total)! Yeah… It was a tough one! I was happy to finish sub 25 minutes at 23:17, even though it was scaled. I added on way more weight on that bar and did way more reps too, so to me, this is REALLY, REALLY good!

Skill: Power Clean 8×2 EMOM

Since we were keeping the same weight throughout, I chose 60# for all my reps. I was really focusing on jumping (getting my feet off the ground and landing wider)the bar up, all the while maintaining contact on my thighs on the pull.

I came back home, made pancakes for the little ones, showered, did 3 loads of laundry and folded 4 (Nanny was nice enough to give me a head start on my laundry last night before she headed home), cleaned upstairs, picked up Rina from preschool and got everybody lunch. To say that I’m looking forward to sitting on the couch before I go nap (I’m working a night shift tonight) is the understatement of the year. I thought for sure I would be sore in the legs tonight around 10pm. My prediction was so wrong… It’s barely 1pm and my hips and butt are already killing me. Fun night at work tonight, I’m sure! 😉

 

 

One thought on “No Longer Afraid

  1. Super ma grande, l’important c’est de faire ce qui te plait et surtout, d’avoir du plaisir à le faire!!
    Je t’aime
    Momxxxx

Leave a Reply

