Their Balls Are Bigger Than Ours…

…wallballs that is!

I got to sleep in this morning because I was meeting up with Krista to go throw down at Keating Crossfit. Since she is working a night shift tonight, she wanted to do a later class so we decided upon the 0730 class. I was there early and warmed up a bit on my own before Krista arrived. I signed up the waiver and then we did a general warm-up. Once we were warmed, Coach Brent said he was ready when I was. I tried a few wallballs with their balls because I had never used balls like these before to do wall balls. They use the “wall ball” whether we use something more similar to a medicine ball. Here’s the difference:

Med ball

Med ball

Wall ball

Wall ball

 

I have to say, the wall ball is a lot more forgiving when you smack it on your chest. I can’t say for sure how it feels like when you smash your face with it because I managed to avoid doing that today. Maybe it felt more forgiving because it was 10# instead of the 14# I’m now used to using, but I still needed to get used to it. Once I did a few reps, I felt like I was good to go. I had brought my own rope so I knew I was good in that department as well. There was no way I was going to even attempt Rx, so Scaled division was what I was aiming for. My goal was to finish two rounds.

I got started on the wall balls. I managed 8, then I tried for 7, but decided on breaking my rounds into 5 reps, as much as I could. My technique wasn’t the greatest and I kept catching the ball, stopping, then dropping into the squat. That was a poor strategy and I wasted a lot of energy doing that. I got my 50 reps in and moved onto the 200 single skips. I was trying my best to get to 100, then rest, then do 100 again. I managed pretty close to that, with only a few tripping in my own feet.

Back to the wallballs. I broke all my reps into 5’s again and this time around, I was much more efficient at catching the ball into a squat. I got a few no-reps, but I just kept pushing through.

Back to the single skips. I was trying to speed up a bit, but it only made me trip on my feet more frequently so I slowed down my pace for more accurate reps.

I got back to the wallballs and managed 12 more reps before time was called.

Total reps: 512 (2 full rounds + 12 wallballs) Goal surpassed!

For once, I kind of felt good doing wallballs today. Don’t get me wrong, they are still my most disliked move so far, but I didn’t feel too defeated doing them. Must have been because of the lighter weight!

Wallballs: short people's nemesis!

Wallballs: short people’s nemesis!

Then it was time for Krista aka Power House aka Little K. That girl is a machine. She does triathlons and I knew she had the lungs for this one and I was sure she would beat my score easily. She totally did too! Here she is in action:

Fully extended for the reach!

Fully extended for the reach!

Squatting below parallel

Squatting below parallel in the catch

Breathing through the skipping

Breathing through the skipping

She did amazing with a score of 535!

Short people unite!

sweaty short people unite!

Once we were done, we cooled down and discussed wallball technique (I gave her a few tips) and worked on our kip for the pull ups. It was nice because I usually don’t have time to stay behind and work on anything once I’m done, I usually have to rush home to Ben and the girls. I also gave her some pointers for her DUs and she worked on that for a little bit. Now that she knows my tricks, Krista has texted me that she may attempt 15.3 again on Monday. I won’t

I swung by the grocery store to get what I was missing to make these Crab Cakes and this Zucchini Chocolate Bread, had a quick shower and made myself a hearty breakfast! Now that I’m done with this post, I will get my cooking going! Keeping in mind with the secret I mentioned yesterday, we have a fun afternoon planned and, hopefully, I will be able to divulge my little secret antic back here soon! In the meantime, I hope you enjoy your weekend, I get to spend mine with my husband and my kids, a rare event lately!

Leave a Reply

